n Crum	
1	Crum

On Behalf Of:

Committee: House Committee On Rules

Measure, Appointment or Topic: HB3974

I am a small housing provider in Oregon. I charge applicants only what I am being charged for screening reports. When I refer to screening reports I am referring to credit, background, and eviction reports. With that said, I do not oppose a \$20.00 screening cap IF the state can guarantee a way for us as housing providers to screen applicants for \$20.00. I do not see any proposal to provide us as housing providers with the ability to conduct a full screening for \$20.00 thus it seems very short sighted to only work on one half of the puzzle in favor of tenants and at the cost to housing providers. I would love a \$20.00 option to screen applicants, I would love it if the state provided us with a free option and then I could charge applicants \$0.00. I do not and never have tried to make a profit from screening applicants. I simply want a quality applicant that meets my screening guidelines.

I have worked to find cheaper screening options for applicants and my current screening process costs \$42.00, which means you want me as a housing provider to absorb \$22.00 per applicant. Additionally, I paid for a membership to bring that screening cost down for applicants. I do not think that it is fair or reasonable to ask housing providers to subsidize screening costs. I do not actually receive any funds for screening from applicants, they pay the screening company directly. We should be able to recoup the actual cost of screening reports. HB3974 will not make housing more accessible or affordable.

Passing HB3974 without creating a system for housing providers to conduct screenings for \$20.00 will result in more complex and burdensome screening processes, increased rents to recoup these costs, and will increase the number of disqualified applicants wasting the time and financial resources of housing providers.

Though this bill does not seem like a major piece of legislation, the compounding impact of all of Oregon's anti-housing provider laws will continue to drive capital and investment away from our state, continuing to exacerbate the housing crisis we currently are experiencing. I know of many small housing providers that have had enough and are exiting the industry and or moving their capital to other states that respect housing providers.

Oregon law already requires housing providers to refund application fees for applications that are not processed. I urge this body to enforce the laws already on the books regarding refunding application fees instead of passing more laws. What good is a law that isn't being enforced?

I urge you to vote NO on HB3974.