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Chair Bowman, Vice-Chairs Drazan and Pham, and members of the House Committee on 
Rules,  

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony in opposition to HB 3974.  Oregon 
REALTORS® is an industry association comprised of roughly 18,000 members who work as 
real estate brokers, principal real estate brokers, real estate property managers, and 
affiliated industry professionals.  In turn, our members represent hundreds of thousands of 
Oregonians in real property transactions across the state. 

By capping tenant screening charges at $20, HB 3974 would eliminate the ability of 
residential landlords to offset their actual costs when screening a tenant, thus increasing a 
housing providers’ operational costs.  Housing providers will be left with three options, all 
of which are detrimental to Oregon’s housing market: 

1. Conduct substandard screenings, risking safety and stability and making it difficult 
if not impossible for the housing provider to evaluate all prospective tenants based 
on objective criteria;  

2. Absorb the actual cost of tenant screenings, reducing the economic viability of 
investing in and providing rental housing; or 

3. Pass the costs of screening onto other tenants through increased rents. 

The costs of completing a tenant screening won’t go away and HB 3974 will not change the 
basic economics of operating a business.  The costs will simply be shifted in ways that will 
worsen Oregon’s housing crisis.   

We sympathize with the concerns that the bill is trying to address.  There is no doubt that 
application screening fees can be burdensome for low-income prospective tenants.  
However, it is important to keep in mind that Oregon already has laws to protect tenants 
from excessive or repetitive screening charges, laws which have been updated as recently 
as 2023 (ORS 90.295).  Among other protections, these laws:  

• Limit tenant screening fees to the landlord’s average actual cost of screening 
applicants or the or the customary amount charged by tenant screening companies 
or consumer credit reporting agencies for a comparable level of screening; 

• Require landlords to return screening fees to prospective tenants if the landlord fills 
the unit prior to screening the applicant or the applicant withdraws their application 
before screening is conducted.  Landlords must also notify prospective tenants of 
this right before requiring the payment of the screening fee; and  
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• Prohibit landlords from charging a prospective tenant more than one applicant 
screening charge within any 60-day period, regardless of the number of rental units 
owned for which the applicant has applied. 

Additionally, our members who conduct property management report that they only screen 
applicants who are first in line for a property and that not until someone is denied do they 
run screening report for another applicant.  While it is true that an applicant may apply with 
more than one landlord at a time, it is unlikely that the applicant is first in line for each unit, 
and the applicant can withdraw if they have already qualified for a unit with another 
landlord.  

Oregon REALTORS® is encouraged by recent market innovations such as Zillow’s portable 
rental application.  We believe that existing laws—which have recently been 
strengthened—and market innovations are better solutions than arbitrary price controls 
that don’t reflect the cost of doing business and risk further damage to the housing market.  
Oregon REALTORS® is interested in being a constructive partner with lawmakers and other 
stakeholders on this issue but strongly encourages the Committee to reject HB 3974 as 
written. 

Thank you for your time and consideration of our testimony. 


