## House Rules Committee,

I am writing in response to HB 3974 which is currently under consideration in the State Legislature. As a housing provider, I strongly oppose this proposed legislation as it poses serious concerns for me as a landlord, and the broader rental housing market.

I understand this bill would cap screening fees at \$20 regardless if the actual cost of screening is higher. Screening applicants thoroughly is essential to responsible property management. Capping fees below actual costs forces me as a landlord to absorb the cost difference. I am a small property owner with two single family dwellings. I already face rising costs and constant regulatory pressure. I simply cannot afford to absorb this cost difference.

This bill would also prohibit me from requiring applicants to purchase specific screening services. I thoroughly vet all potential applicants. I use certain criteria when I do background checks. This criterion is necessary to ensure that potential tenants are financially dependable and trustworthy. I should not be forced to compromise the accuracy and consistency of background checks. I use my criteria to avoid the risk of problematic tenancies. Thorough screening is beneficial for both the landlord, as it minimizes the risk of non-payment or eviction, and the tenants, who are more likely to have safe, dependable, and stable neighbors. There is also the possibility of fraud, using background companies that are less than reputable. Mandating acceptance of third-party screening reports limits my ability to verify the accuracy and reliability of applicant information.

This bill would limit my ability to charge a screening fee to one time in 60 days. If applicants are applying to multiple properties in that period, they could over apply to too many properties inflating competition and increasing the number of unqualified applicants making it increasingly difficult to select tenants who meet your criteria. This could lead to more stringent landlord requirements or longer vacancy periods. The goal of the application fee is not to penalize prospective tenants, but to ensure the process is both fair and efficient for all parties involved.

This bill is a disincentive to rent. It would discourage investment in rental housing across the State of Oregon. HB 3974 is a misguided policy that will

hurt housing providers and reduce the quality and availability of rental housing in Oregon.

House Rules Committee, HB 3974 is once again overreach by the Oregon Legislature. This proposed bill infringes on my ability as a housing provider to manage my business as I see fit. Capping screening fees limits my ability to offset my costs and maintain the stability of my business. As a business owner, it is my right to make my own decisions and act independently without controlling regulations and government overreach.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Kathy Loving
Triad Investment Properties, LLC