Susan Andersen

On Behalf Of:

Committee: House Committee On Rules

Measure, Appointment or Topic: HB3974

Good Morning Esteemed Members of the Oregon Legislature, I am a woman owned small business of which I supply 15 homes for the Portland Community and I oppose the \$20 application limit proposal. It is a tremendous amount of work and money keeping my 3 properties in good condition. When I have an opening, I often spend hours of work and lots of money on repairs of un-recouped expenses between residents. Only being able to charge \$20 for each application makes me feel unappreciated for my efforts and adds to my expenses. Portland/Oregon already has some of the highest taxes for small businesses in the USA. It is difficult to live and pay my bills. I have looked into selling my properties which would leave fewer options for renters in Portland. I enjoy my residents and doing my job, however, I have to eat and live from their profits. I pay \$43 per applicant to run a background credit check. I also call a designated emergency contact, 2 more personal references, employment references, meet the applicant at the unit and show them its features. On average I spend 2 hours per applicant of my time. I was a teacher before retiring. In Oregon a teacher earns \$20-30/hour. A property manager with all their liability exposure, expertise, and financial and work stress should be earning the same amount. A fair cost for application fees is \$90-100, not \$20. If you want to keep landlords in Oregon and not have them move to a different state you need to consider fair policies that keep managers being able to pay their bills and earn a living.