

May 20, 2025

Re: Support for Senate Bill 702 -3 Amendment: Prohibits distributing, selling, attempting to sell or offering to sell flavored inhalant delivery system products or flavored tobacco products in this state, except from premises established as a store by the Oregon Liquor and Cannabis Commission and licensed by the Department of Revenue or authorized by a local government.

Chair Senator Meek, Vice-Chair Senator McLane, and Members of the Senate Committee On Finance and Revenue:

The Deschutes County Board of County Commissioners strongly support Senate Bill 702, as flavors, including menthol, continue to be a key component in making inhalant delivery systems attractive to youth. Among Oregon high school students who use inhalant delivery systems exclusively, nearly 90% use flavored products. In Deschutes County, 80% of our 11th graders, who have used tobacco before, reported having used a flavored tobacco or vaping product their first time.

The use of inhalant delivery systems presents a significant health risk to young people, particularly because adolescents are especially vulnerable to nicotine's addictive effects because their brains are still developing. Nicotine can have other long-lasting effects on adolescent brain development, making it more difficult to concentrate, learn, and control impulses. There is strong evidence linking the use of inhalant delivery system use among youth to an increased risk of them eventually using combustible tobacco products, such as conventional cigarettes.

Prohibiting the widespread sale of flavored inhalant delivery systems by only allowing the sale at OLCC established and Department of Revenue licensed stores is an effective strategy to reduce the youth nicotine use and prevent other potentially lifelong health consequences. Deschutes County urges the committee to support SB 702 to help protect the health of our youth.

Sincerely,

The Deschutes County Board of Commissioners

Patti Adair

Vice Chair Commissioner

CC: Senators Andrew Broadman, Diane Linthicum, and Mike McLane Representatives Vikki Breese Iverson, Jason Kropf, Emerson Levy, E. Werner Reschke, and Mark Owens

Phil Chang