

Employment Department Advisory Council 875 Union Street NE Salem, OR 97301 OED_Advisory_Council@employ.oregon.gov

Robert Westerman, Chair Employee Member IBEW

Kathy Nishimoto, Vice Chair Employer Member Nishimoto Fruit Co.

Kurtis Barker Public Member Confederated Tribes

Confederated Tribes of Siletz Indians

Robert Camarillo Employee Member Oregon State Building and Construction Trades

Catie Theisen Employee Member Oregon AFL-CIO

David Gerstenfeld Ex-Officio Member Director, Oregon Employment Department

Rebecca Nance Council Staff Principal Legislative Advisor, Oregon Employment Department April 10, 2025

Honorable Senator Kate Lieber, Co-Chair Honorable Representative Tawna Sanchez, Co-Chair Joint Committee on Ways and Means 900 Court Street NE, Room H-178 Salem, OR 97301

Dear Co-Chairs Lieber and Sanchez:

As Chair and Vice Chairs of the Oregon Employment Department (OED) Advisory Council, we are sending this letter in support of HB 5007, the Oregon Employment Department's budget request. The services that OED provides to Oregonians are critical for both workers and employers, and the funding levels they are requesting will help them continue to provide adequate customer service levels for these programs in the 2025-2027 biennium while not raising taxes.

Unemployment Insurance is an important safety net for Oregonians who find themselves unemployed – helping them, their families, and their communities in times of hardship. OED also provides important supports to help businesses find workers and help job seekers find employment. Their employment work is also critical to helping people transition from unemployment insurance quickly. The labor market information provided by OED helps job seekers, employers, and policy makers in important ways.

These programs are critical to Oregon's economy, and we want to express our support for OED's requested budget, as well as a possible House Revenue Committee bill that would increase the diversion rate of the Supplemental Employment Department Administrative Fund (SEDAF) to 0.135%. This rate increase would permit the Governor's Recommended Budget for OED to go forward. Without this change, OED will have to make significant cuts to its staff. Timely services are



important, and cuts would result in unacceptable customer service standards for Oregonians who rely on OED's programs and services.

This SEDAF rate increase would prevent staffing cuts and drops in customer service levels. Particularly during a time of increased uncertainty about the economy's future, we cannot afford to cut staff who are responsible for supporting job seekers and businesses throughout Oregon. The rate increase would not increase the amount of UI taxes paid by employers, and it is not projected to impact UI tax schedules as far forward as those projections can be reliably made (through 2032).

The Advisory Council comprises employer, employee, and public members with the purpose of providing feedback and guidance to the agency director with respect to the unemployment insurance and employment service programs.

We urge your support for HB 5007 and the potential forthcoming House Revenue Committee Bill increasing the SEDAF rate.

On behalf of the OED Advisory Council,

Robert Westerman, Chair OED Advisory Council Chair

Mathy Mishinow

Kathy Nishimoto, Vice Chair OED Advisory Council Vice Chair

CC: <u>Full Ways and Means</u> Honorable Senator Fred Girod, Co-Vice Chair Honorable Representative David Gomberg, Co-Vice Chair Honorable Representative Greg Smith, Co-Vice Chair Honorable Senator Dick Anderson, Member Honorable Senator Daniel Bonham, Member Honorable Senator Anthony Broadman, Member Honorable Senator Winsvey Campos, Member Honorable Senator Lew Frederick, Member Honorable Senator Mike McLane, Member Honorable Senator David Brock Smith, Member Honorable Senator Janeen Sollman, Member Honorable Senator Aaron Woods, Member Honorable Representative Ben Bowman, Member Honorable Representative Vikki Breese-Iverson, Member Honorable Representative Jami Cate, Member Honorable Representative Christine Drazan, Member Honorable Representative Paul Evans, Member Honorable Representative Emerson Levy, Member Honorable Representative Mark Owens, Member Honorable Representative Ricki Ruiz, Member Honorable Representative Andrea Valderrama, Member

CC: <u>Transportation and Economic Development (TED) Ways and Means Subcommittee</u>

Honorable Senator Aaron Woods, Co-Chair Honorable Representative David Gomberg, Co-Chair Honorable Senator Mark Meek, Member Honorable Senator Bruce Starr, Member Honorable Representative Jami Cate, Member Honorable Representative Daniel Nguyen, Member Honorable Representative Alek Skarlatos, Member Honorable Representative Mari Watanabe, Member