REPRESENTATIVE ANNESSA HARTMAN (SHE/HER)

HOUSE DISTRICT 40



OREGON HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Chronology of Notable Changes to Civil Statutes of Limitations for Sexual Assault & Child Sexual Abuse Claims

Year	State	Description
1983	Illinois	(P.A. 83-293) removed SOLs for claims against defendants who have been convicted of Class X felonies, which includes child sexual assault, child pornography, and second sexual assault convictions.
2000	Maine	(HP 1747/LD 2453) eliminated SOLs for sexual acts towards minors.
2001	Alaska	(HB 210) removed SOLs for civil claims related to felony child sex abuse and felony sexual assault.
2002	Connecticut	(P.A. 02-138) revived SOL up to age 48 against perpetrators, private organizations, and the government.
2004	Missouri	(SB 1211) extended the SOL for child sex abuse claims to 31 years or within 3 years of discovery.
2007	Delaware	(SB 29) removed SOL for child sex abuse, for gross negligence against third parties, created 2-year lookback period.
2008	District of Columbia	(Act 17-703) extended the SOL for child sexual abuse to the age of 25 or within 3 years of discovery.
2009	Oregon	(HB 2827) retroactively extended the SOL to until the victim turns 40 years old (from 24 years old) and increased the discovery period from three years to five years.
2010	Florida	(SB 870) removed the SOL for sexual assault against children under 16 going forward.
2011	Virginia	(SB 1145) enacted a 20-year discovery period for child sex abuse claims.
2013	Alaska	(SB 22) removed SOLs for civil claims related to felony sex trafficking.
2013	Illinois	(SB 1399) removed the SOL for child sex offenses under 18 going forward.
2013	Minnesota	(HF 681) removed the SOL for sexual abuse of a minor and created a 3-year lookback. However, claims against employers based on vicarious liability must be filed by the victim's 24th birthday.
2014	Massachusetts	(HB 4126) revived SOL for child sex abuse claims against perpetrators up until the victim turns 53.

2015	Utah	(HB 277) eliminated SOL for child sex abuse claims against the perpetrator.
2015	Texas	(HB 189) extended the SOL for child sex abuse to 15 years after the injury.
2016	Utah	(HB 279) extended the SOL for child sex abuse to 53 years old and attempted a broader reform to open a 3-year window and, but Utah's Supreme Court later ruled this retroactive revival unconstitutional.
2017	Nebraska	(LB 300) removed SOL for child sexual assault when defendant is the perpetrator.
2018	California	(AB 1619) extended the SOL for sexual assault to 10 years or within 3 years of discovery.
2018	District of Columbia	(Act 22-593) extended the SOL for sexual assault claims to 40 years or within 5 years of discovery.
2018	Michigan	(SB 872) extended SOL for sexual assault to 10 years, extended SOL for child sexual abuse to 28 years or within 3 years of discovery. Also opened a 90-day window reviving claims for victims of Larry Nassar only.
2019	Vermont	(H.330) removed SOL for child sex abuse retroactively. Third parties are only liable for gross negligence.
2019	Montana	(SB 330) extended SOL to 27 years old and created 1-year lookback period for all expired child sexual abuse claims.
2019	New Jersey	(S. 477) extended SOL for sexual assault to within 7 years of discovery and extended SOL for child sex abuse to 37 years or within 7 years of discovery. Also opened 2-year lookback period for child or adult sex abuse claims.
2019	California	(AB 218) created a 3-year window for child abuse claims.
2019	Arizona	(HB 2466) extended child sex abuse SOL to 30 years and created 19-month lookback window for all past civil child sex abuse claims.
2019	New York	(S.2440/A.2683) extended sexual assault SOL to 20 years, extended SOL to child sex abuse SOL to age 55 or 7 years from discovery, and created a one-year lookback period for all child abuse claims, later extended by another year.
2019	North Carolina	(SB 199) extended the child sexual abuse SOL to when the victim turns 28 going forward and opened a 2-year lookback period.
2019	Texas	(HB 3809) extended SOL for child sex abuse to the age of 48 and created 5-year discovery rule.
2019	Pennsylvania	(HB 962) extended SOL for child sex abuse to age 55.
2019	Oregon	(HB 3293) created Oregon's extended statutes of limitation for civil sexual assault claims on adults.
2020	New Hampshire	(HB 705) removed SOL for child sex abuse and adult sex assault claims going forward.
2020	West Virginia	(HB 4559) revived SOL up to age 36 against perpetrators and private organizations.
2020	Virginia	(HB 870) created a 10-year discovery period for sexual assault going forward.

2021	Louisiana	(HB 492) removed SOL for child sex abuse claims going forward and created a 3- year lookback for any time-barred child sex abuse claims. 2024 (SB 246) extended lookback period for another 3 years)
2021	Colorado	(SB 88) removed SOL for sexual assault and child sex abuse going forward and created a 3-year window to revive child sex abuse claims dating back to the 1960s, but the Colorado Supreme Court struck it down as unconstitutional.
2021	Arizona	(SB 1382) removed SOL for actions based on sex trafficking of minors and adults.
2021	Maine	(LD 589) Created unlimited lookback period for child sex abuse. Struck down by state Supreme Court as unconstitutional in 2025.
2021	Nevada	(SB 203) removed SOL for child sex abuse & exploitation claims against perpetrator & defendants criminally liable & made retroactive.
2021	Arkansas	(SB 676) created a 2-year revival window for child sex abuse claims. 2025 (SB 13) opens a 1-year revival window for CSA claims against Boy Scouts.
2022	California	(AB 2777) created a 3-year window for adult sexual assault survivors for claims arising on/after 2009.
2022	Federal Government	(S 3103) removed SOL for child sex abuse, sex trafficking, and exploitation.
2022	New York	(S.66A/A.648A) created a one-year lookback period for sexual assault survivors.
2023	Ohio	(HB 35) for 5 years for CSA claims against a bankruptcy estate of an organization chartered under federal law, i.e. the Boy Scouts of America.
2023	Arkansas	(SB 204) removed SOL for child and disabled-adult victims.
2023	California	(AB 452) removed SOL for child sex abuse going forward.
2023	Nevada	(SB 129) removed SOL for adult sexual assault claims.
2023	Maryland	(HB 1/SB 686) removed SOL for child sexual abuse and made it retroactive and created a permanent revival period and imposed a damages cap of \$1.5 million against private and \$890k against public entities.
2023	Kansas	(SB 317) extended SOL to age 31 or 3 years after criminal conviction, and revived claims up to these limits.
2023	Maine	(LD 1790) eliminated SOL for incest, sexual assault, and sexual exploitation of minors.
2023	Virginia	(HB 1647) extended the discovery period for sexual assault claims to 15 years when the assault was by a person in a position of trust having influence over the victim's life.
2024	lowa	(SF 2431) revived claims against the Boy Scouts.
2024	Indiana	(HB 1047) revived claims against the Boy Scouts.
2024	Hawaii	(SB 2601) extended the civil SOL for child sex abuse claims committed on or after July 1, 2024 from age 26 to age 50 (age of majority, 18 + 32 years) or 5 years after discovery.
2024	Washington	(HB 1618) removed SOL for child sex abuse going forward.

Memorandum on National Trends in Civil Statutes of Limitation for Sexual Assault & Child Sexual Abuse

Over the past quarter-century, states have progressively taken steps to expand or eliminate civil statutes of limitation (SOL) for sexual assault and child sexual abuse claims. While a handful of early reforms emerged in the first decade of the 2000s, the movement gained decisive momentum after 2017, driven by survivor advocacy and landmark institutional lawsuits.

Early, Sporadic Reform (1983–2015)

Early adopters like Illinois, Maine, and Alaska laid the groundwork, responding to heartbreaking revelations of institutional cover-ups. These solitary efforts, however, remained exceptions rather than signals of a broader trend. Florida's modest extension in 2010 and Illinois's adjustment in 2013 reflected incremental concern but did not spur widespread adoption.

Acceleration During #MeToo (2016–2019)

The public reckoning initiated by #MeToo in late 2017 provided survivors a powerful platform and normalized their stories in the court of public opinion. In 2019 alone, more state capitols enacted major SOL reforms than in all preceding years combined. Vermont abolished its statute of limitations, and New York extended its discovery window well into mid-life. This surge marked the moment when survivor testimony translated directly into legislative action.

Influence of Institutional Litigation (2020–2021)

Concurrent with #MeToo's cultural shift, other developments further motivated reform. The Boy Scouts of America's Chapter 11 bankruptcy filing in late 2020 thrust child-abuse survivors' claims into national headlines, underscoring how statutes of limitation had precluded many from seeking redress. In the wake of that bankruptcy, states such as West Virginia revived claims up to age 36, and Colorado and New Hampshire swept away all SOLs for adult and child survivors. These reforms were explicitly framed as correcting injustices perpetuated by institutions.

Sustained Momentum Through 2025

Far from peaking after 2019, SOL reforms have continued steadily. Legislatures in seven states acted in 2023, with notable bills passing in California and Arkansas. This persistence shows that expansion and removal of civil SOLs have become bipartisan best practice rather than a fleeting response to media attention. The alignment of state laws with the 2019 federal abolition of child-abuse time bars further cements this as the new legal standard.

Implications for HB 3582

HB 3582, which proposes removing SOLs for sexual assault and child sexual abuse and eliminating the "knowingly" hurdle, mirrors some of the boldest measures adopted elsewhere. Enacting this bill will place Oregon alongside jurisdictions that have recognized survivor rights as paramount, demonstrating leadership in human services and victims' advocacy.

Given the continuing national wave of reform, failure to act risks casting Oregon as an outlier lagging behind emerging consensus, especially when both California and Washington have removed their SOLs for child sexual abuse.