State	Probationary Period	Exceptions & Special Provisions	Statute
California	2 years (with possible 3rd year)	Under AB 438, school districts can extend probation to a third year in specific cases.	California Education Code § 44929.21
Idaho	3 years	No major exceptions; after three years, teachers may receive a renewable contract.	<u>Idaho Code § 33-</u> <u>515</u>
Nevada	2–3 years	Teachers rated "highly effective" or "effective" for two consecutive years may achieve post-probationary status earlier.	Nevada Revised Statutes § 391.820
Oregon	3 years	Teachers who have completed a three-year probationary period in another Oregon district may have a shorter probationary period of at least one year.	Oregon Revised Statutes § 342.815
Washington	1 year	Teachers with prior experience in another Washington district are generally limited to one year	Revised Code of Washington § 28A.405.210