Submitter:	SHERIDAN HORNING
On Behalf Of:	
Committee:	Senate Committee On Health Care
Measure, Appointment or Topic:	HB3824

Please oppose this bill that allows PT's to practice a form of acupuncture with minimal training, in conflict with Oregon law that disallows non-acupuncturists from practicing acupuncture. Licensed acupuncturists in Oregon must complete 2,500 to 3,500 hours of training, including 800–1,000 hours of supervised clinical education. This far exceeds the 20–100 hours of training typically offered in dry needling courses for physical therapists. This discrepancy has serious implications for patient safety. By far, most of the adverse reactions and injuries from acupuncture occur when it is done by those other than licensed acupuncturists. Please uphold the safety precautions already established by state law to limit acupuncture practice to those that are trained specifically and therefore have the most skills.