

April 7, 2025

House Committee on Climate, Energy, and Environment 900 Court St. NE. Salem, Oregon 97301

RE: Benton County Urges Support for HB 3794 to Create a Task Force on Municipal Solid Waste in the Willamette Valley

Chair Representative John Lively Co-Vice Chairs Mark Gamba and Bobby Levy Members of the House Committee on Climate, Energy, and Environment

The Willamette Valley's solid waste management system is complex and interactive among a multitude of public, private, and non-profit partners that far exceeds any single landfill. This dynamic system is the reason Benton County demonstrated leadership in providing the initial resources to create the ongoing regional Sustainable Materials Management Plan (SMMP) Task Force.

The current estimate of Coffin Butte's end-of-life is 2037-2039. While that reads far into the future, our region does not currently enjoy an alternative, working infrastructure when Coffin Butte shuts down. Further, at least six regional counties, including coastal communities, rely on 100% or close of their solid waste going to Coffin Butte, which includes more than 800,000 residents. The development of such a necessary infrastructure will take years and millions of dollars of investment. The time to act is now.

The ongoing regional SMMP Task Force is currently looking at innovative ways and policies to reduce the generation of materials that support our environment and economy. The Task Force is also identifying findings and recommendations to chart a course for solid waste management that secures the best interests and systemic, long-term solutions for local governments and their residents. The current SMMP Task Force will end on June 30, 2025. In order for their recommendations to move forward, the proposed Task Force under HB 3794 will be essential to prepare northwest Oregon for the needed changes ahead. The Benton County Board of Commissioners urge your support to pass HB 3794 so local and state leaders can aggressively research, discuss, and identify recommendations to ensure enduring, sustainable solutions.

Sincerely,

BENTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS

Nancy Wyse, Chair

ne

Pat Malone, Vice Chair

Gabe Shepherd, Commissioner