Submitter:	April Bailey
On Behalf Of:	Nesksowin PCP
Committee:	Senate Committee On Judiciary
Measure, Appointment or Topic:	SB697

SB 697 Why is the Oregon Legislature consistently considering bills to disarm vulnerable potential crime victims? The reality is that many young women are the victims of violent crimes, such as rape and murder. In 90% of these cases the woman is no physical match for the male perpetrator. Her only hope is self-defense with a firearm. Aside from this issue, there is nothing in the Oregon or the U.S. Constitution that allows states to take away self-defense rights based on the age of the citizenship. If 18-21 year-olds are citizens than they have the right to keep and bear arms. Finally, this is historically unprecedented: John Quincy Adams was training with the Minute Men at age 8. Pony Express riders were younger than 12 years old, and had to carry rifles to protect themselves. Our state allows youth hunts the ODFW at age 12, which means these young people are trained with mentors to carry and use firearms. This bill will do nothing to end gun violence and will only disadvantage and violate the rights of our youngest citizens. Vote NO on SB697.