

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Tami Kerr. Chair Oregon Dairy Farmers Association April Snell, Vice-Chair Oregon Water Resources Congress Meghan Tuttle, Secretary-Treasurer Weyerhaeuser Company Kim Anderson Oregon State University Michelle Armstrong Wilbur-Ellis Angi Bailey Oregon Farm Bureau Federation Seth Barnes Oregon Forest & Industries Council Luke Bergey, Past Chair Miami Corporation Butch Bernhardt Western Wood Preservers Institute Loren Bumgardner West Coast Beet Seed Company Megan Chuinard Oregon Seed Council Ken Dey J.R. Simplot Company John Enright KWS Seeds George Gough Bayer U.S. - Crop Science Greg Harris Threemile Canvon Farms Amanda Hoey Oregon Wheat Growers League Bill Hovt Oregon Cattlemen's Association John Jayne Cascade Timber Consulting Jill LeVake Corteva Agriscience Elin Miller Umpqua Vineyards J.P. Mischkot Glass Tree Care & Spray Colleen Nihen Associated Oregon Hazelnut Industries David Phipps OR Golf Course Superintendents Annette Price Pacific Power Jerry Risk Roseburg Forest Products Ben Sacher Syngenta Chris Sexton Lone Rock Timber Management Co Alec Shebiel Umatilla Electric Cooperative Craig Smith Far West Agribusiness Association Jeff Smith Valent USA Jake Thiemens Manulife Investment Management Larry Treleven Oregon Pest Control Association Paul Washburn Western Helicopter Services Laura Wilkeson Hampton Lumber Chuck Wolsborn Gresham Golf Course

OREGONIANS FOR FOOD & SHELTER

1320 Capitol Street NE • Suite B-50 • Salem, Oregon 97301

ofsonline.org; 503-370-8092

A non-profit coalition to promote the efficient production of quality food and fiber while protecting human health, personal property and the environment, through the integrated, responsible use of pest management products, soil nutrients and biotechnology.

April 3, 2025 Senate Committee on Natural Resources and Wildfire

Re: Opposition to HB 80

Chair Golden, Vice-Chair Nash, and Committee Members:

Thank you for the opportunity to share our concerns with SB 80. OFS represents a diverse coalition with members from various industries of Oregon's natural resource sector, including the animal agriculture industry. OFS and our members and partners are engaged in multiple ongoing discussions and rulemakings related to groundwater protection issues. On behalf of our broader membership and the operations that make up Oregon's natural resource sector, I urge you to oppose SB 80.

Oregon's animal agriculture sector is struggling to adapt to multiple new regulations imposed by this legislature, which include SB 85 passed in 2023 requiring CAFOs to obtain water permits and track wastewater. New limits on access to water imposed through SB 85 have effectively created a moratorium on new large CAFO operations. The bill also addressed permitting within groundwater management areas, where CAFOs already have stricter regulations, including monitoring systems to ensure manure is not entering groundwater.

Additionally, the state is investing significant capacity and resources across multiple agencies into addressing the longstanding nitrate contamination issues in areas of the Lower Umatilla Basin groundwater management area.

Finally, a groundwater management area designation is more than just a location on a map, it initiates a statewide, multi-agency process, which is also evolving, designed to bring additional monitoring, data collection, state resources, and solutions to areas of concern. Regulations already exist, with more being considered, that are specific to agricultural operations within the state's groundwater management areas.

SB 80 proposes to prohibit operations that are already under immense scrutiny and operate within a system of complex regulations, which have been updated as recently as last year. Lacking evidence of harm despite extensive data collection and reporting requirements for CAFOs of all sizes, this bill arbitrarily and unnecessarily targets one industry while ignoring significant recent legislation and the robust regulatory framework that is designed to ensure that CAFOs do not negatively impact groundwater quality. Please vote no on this bill.

Respectfully,

Katie Murray Executive Director