REMOVING TIME LIMITS ON SURVIVORS' JUSTICE (HB 3582)



HB 3582 eliminates the time limits for survivors of child sexual abuse and sexual assault to bring claims in civil courts.

Current Law:

- Adults must file sexual assault claims within 5 years of discovering the link between abuse and harm.
- Children have until age 40 or 5 years from discovery—whichever is later.

HB 3582:

- Oregon would join 11 other states, including Arkansas, Louisiana, and New York, in removing these limits so survivors can pursue justice on their own timelines.
- The bill will not apply retroactively.

The bill's -1 amendment removes the word "knowingly" from the statutes of limitation.

- Problem: Defense attorneys use "knowingly" to argue that a survivor must prove the institution had actual knowledge of abuse against them personally, regardless of whether they knew about reports of past abuse.
- This has led to inconsistent court rulings, and in many cases, valid claims have been dismissed—leading to a higher standard for victims than in other negligence cases.
- Oregon and New Jersey are the only two states to require this higher standard.
 Rep.AnnessaHartman@OregonLegislature.gov