

BOARD OF DIRECTORS Tami Kerr, Chair Oregon Dairy Farmers Association April Snell, Vice-Chair Oregon Water Resources Congress Meghan Tuttle, Secretary-Treasurer Weyerhaeuser Company Kim Anderson Oregon State University Michelle Armstrong Wilbur-Ellis Angi Bailey Oregon Farm Bureau Federation Seth Barnes Oregon Forest & Industries Council Luke Bergey, Past Chair Miami Corporation Butch Bernhardt Western Wood Preservers Institute Loren Bumgardner West Coast Beet Seed Company Megan Chuinard Oregon Seed Council Ken Dey J.R. Simplot Company John Enright KWS Seeds George Gough Bayer U.S. - Crop Science Greg Harris Threemile Canvon Farms Amanda Hoey Oregon Wheat Growers League Bill Hovt Oregon Cattlemen's Association John Jayne Cascade Timber Consulting Jill LeVake Corteva Agriscience Elin Miller Umpqua Vineyards J.P. Mischkot Glass Tree Care & Spray Colleen Nihen Associated Oregon Hazelnut Industries David Phipps OR Golf Course Superintendents Annette Price Pacific Power Jerry Risk Roseburg Forest Products Ben Sacher Syngenta Chris Sexton Lone Rock Timber Management Co Alec Shebiel Umatilla Electric Cooperative Craig Smith Far West Agribusiness Association Jeff Smith Valent USA Jake Thiemens Manulife Investment Management Larry Treleven Oregon Pest Control Association Paul Washburn Western Helicopter Services Laura Wilkeson Hampton Lumber Chuck Wolsborn Gresham Golf Course

OREGONIANS FOR FOOD & SHELTER

1320 Capitol Street NE • Suite B-50 • Salem, Oregon 97301

ofsonline.org; 503-370-8092

A non-profit coalition to promote the efficient production of quality food and fiber while protecting human health, personal property and the environment, through the integrated, responsible use of pest management products, soil nutrients and biotechnology.

March 19, 2025

House Committee on Climate, Energy, and Environment *Re: Opposition to HB 2960*

Chair Lively, Vice-Chairs Gamba and Levy, and Committee Members:

Thank you for the opportunity to testify on HB 2960. Oregonians for Food & Shelter (OFS) is a diverse coalition with members across Oregon's natural resource sector, including many of Oregon's agricultural commodity groups and the forest products industry, as well as manufacturers of the tools our producers use to grow food and fiber. Our members come together around the importance of pesticides, fertilizers, and biotechnology in producing and protecting natural resources. OFS advocates for science-based policy, innovation, and stewardship related to these tools.

Since the passage of SB 582 during the 2021 Legislative Session, OFS has worked to represent our agricultural chemical manufacturer members in DEQ's implementation process for Oregon's Recycling Modernization Act (RMA). The legislation requires producers of certain packaging to fund recycling of those products, and this funding is intended to contribute to expansion of recycling facilities and services, among other things. As many of you are aware, the process to implement this legislation has been complex, multi-year, and expensive.

This bill would result in a prohibition on Oregon's sole facility for agricultural plastic waste recycling, without clear justification, and contrary to ongoing state investments in Oregon's plastic recycling infrastructure. Due to contamination and weathering issues, agricultural plastics require chemical recycling as opposed to mechanical recycling. Without local facilities, these plastics would simply end up in landfills.

The industry-funded <u>Ag Container Recycling Council</u> (ACRC) is now formally included in Oregon's RMA (ORS 459A.860 TO 459A.975), based on ACRC's ongoing container recycling program within the state, which relies on local infrastructure for collection, processing, and recycling. We want to recognize the long history of container stewardship efforts in Oregon through the ACRC, resulting in over 10 million pounds of agricultural chemical containers being recycled in the state over the last 30+ years. Please protect Oregon's existing recycling infrastructure and longstanding industryfunded recycling efforts, and vote no on this proposal.

Respectfully,

Latiplu

Katie Murray Executive Director