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DATE: March 17, 2025  

TO:  Joint Committee on Transportation 

FROM: Amy Joyce – DMV Administrator, Oregon Department of Transportation          

   Suzanne Carlson – Public Transportation Division Administrator, Oregon Department 

   of Transportation 

SUBJECT:  HB 3626 – Powered Micromobility Regulation 

 

INTRODUCTION  

The Oregon Vehicle Code includes definitions for a variety of vehicle types and specifies rules 

regarding registration, licensing, and operations. Some of the vehicles currently defined in the 

Oregon Vehicle Code include electric assisted bicycles, motor assisted scooters, and electric personal 

assistive mobility devices. Collectively, these types of vehicles have come to be known broadly as 

“micromobility” vehicles. In recent years, newer types of micromobility vehicles have emerged that 

are not captured in the Oregon Vehicle Code, such as electric unicycles and electric skateboards. 

The definition of an electric assisted bicycle (ORS 801.258) was first added to the Oregon Vehicle 

Code in 1997. Motor assisted scooter (ORS 801.348) was first added in 2001, and the definition was 

modified in 2018 (SB 1532). Electric personal assistive mobility device (ORS 801.259) was added in 

2003. With the passage of HB 4103 (2024), the definition of an electric assisted bicycle was updated 

to include three classes based on the type of motor and top speed. The 2024 Legislature also 

considered HB 4067, establishing a Task Force on Electric Micromobility, which ultimately did not 

pass into law. 

HB 3626 establishes a definition for “powered micromobility devices” in the Oregon Vehicle Code. 

The definition captures devices that currently do not fall under any existing definition and would 

encompass vehicles that have a propulsion system, have a maximum speed of 30 miles per hour, an 

unloaded weight of under 100 pounds, and is not another type of powered device already defined in 

statutes. The measure also sets regulations for these newly defined devices, and changes some of the 

regulation for other motorized devices. The measure reduces the age of operation for a Class 1 e-bike, 

Class 2 e-bike, electric personal assistive mobility device, and a motor assisted scooter to 12 years of 

age; sets 12 years of age as the minimum age to operate a “powered micromobility device”; requires 

protective headgear for anyone under the age of 16 operating a “powered micromobility device”; 

establishes that battery and electric drive systems must be tested by an accredited lab and that ODOT 

by rule must set the battery and electric drive certification standards for electric assisted bicycles and 

https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_title_59
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_801.258
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_801.348
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2018R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/SB1532/Introduced
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_801.259
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2024r1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB4103/Enrolled
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2024r1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB4067/A-Engrossed
https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2025R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB3626/Introduced
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“powered micromobility devices”; establishes that local governments and state agencies with 

jurisdiction over public highways and trails have regulating authority for the use of “powered 

micromobility devices” (ranging from time/manner/place up to complete prohibition); and directs the 

Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) to inform the public through various driver education 

programs with an appropriation of $250,000 General Fund to carry out this portion of the measure. 

 

DISCUSSION 

Today, there are no regulations for devices not captured in statute, such as one-wheeled devices and 

electric skateboards. Regulations for devices currently defined in statute mandate: 

- A person must be 16 years of age to operate any class of electric assisted bicycle, a motor 

 assisted scooter (“e-scooter”), or an electric personal assistive mobility device. HB 3626  

 proposes lowering the minimum age to operate these vehicles to 12 years of age, with the 

 exception of a Class 3 e-bike, which would remain at 16 years of age. 

- A person operating a motor assisted scooter must wear protective headgear regardless of age. The 

measure updates this requirement to anyone under 16 years of age must wear protective headgear 

when riding e-bikes, e-scooter, “powered micromobility devices” and other vehicles.  

- The operation of electric personal assistive mobility devices is allowed on a sidewalk. The 

operation of e-bikes and e-scooters are not allowed on a sidewalk. The measure does not change 

these regulations. 

 

With the existing regulations in statute and proposed changes in HB 3626, some differences remain 

in how all devices will be regulated. Notably, HB 3626 proposes lowering the minimum age to 

operate a Class 2 e-bike, which has a top speed of 20mph, to 12, but a Class 3 e-bike, which has a top 

speed of 28mph would remain 16. However, “powered micromobility devices” have a proposed age 

of 12 – meaning, a 12-year-old could ride a “powered micromobility device” that has a top speed of 

30mph but couldn’t ride a Class 3 e-bike with a lower top speed.  

 

Secondly, not all e-micromobility devices are allowed to be operated in the same place. E-bikes (ORS 

814.410) and motor assisted scooters (ORS 814.524) are not operable on the sidewalk in Oregon per 

statute, while electric personal assistive mobility devices (ORS 814.550) are. HB 3626 does not 

prohibit the operation of “powered micromobility devices” on sidewalks. Meaning, with the proposed 

definition in HB 3626, Oregon may see “powered micromobility mobility devices” with a top 

operable speed of 30mph on sidewalks unless specifically prohibited by local jurisdictions whereas e-

bikes with a top speed of 20mph (Class 1 and Class 2) and 28mph (Class 3), and motor assisted 

scooters with a speed limit of 15mph are limited to  the roadway, bike lane, or path  per statute. The 

use of “powered micromobility devices” with an operable speed of 30mph on sidewalks may pose 

safety risks to pedestrians and other vehicle users.  

Lastly, by statutory definition motor assisted scooters are capable of speeds up to 24mph but have a 

legal operating limit of 15mph per statute (ORS 814.512). Motor assisted scooters are the only 

micromobility device in statute that has a lower operating speed limit than its capable speed. The 

https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_814.410
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_814.410
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_814.524
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_814.550
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_814.512
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proposed –1 amendment eliminates the operating speed limit for motor assisted scooters and lowers 

the age limit to 12 years of age. 

The nuances of existing and proposed regulations as described above may pose challenges in 

informing the public through various driver programs and messaging about vehicle safety for children 

and adults relating to law and rules of the road for all forms of micromobility device and helmet use. 

ODOT would implement driver education and messaging around the nuances of regulations and laws 

to the greatest extent possible through developing and updating driver education materials, online 

resources, social media, informational newsletters, and more. In the Department’s experience, 

delivering complex yet robust statewide safety messaging would require higher resource needs. 

ODOT appreciates the Legislature’s intent to bring consistency and to establish a definition for 

micromobility devices in statute. This measure takes a step in that direction; however, if HB 3626 

passed in current form, even with the –1 amendment, inconsistencies would remain, and the public 

education messaging would be complicated and challenging. 

 

CONCLUSION  

HB 3626 creates a definition for “powered micromobility devices” in the Oregon Vehicle Code; 

updates and establishes new age requirements; requires protective headgear for anyone under the age 

of 16 years of age; requires ODOT to establish battery certification standard requirements for electric 

assisted bicycles and “powered micromobility devices”; establishes regulating authority; and directs 

ODOT to inform the public through driver education efforts. Some differences remain in how all 

vehicles are regulated in statute and in the proposed measure. The complexities of these differences 

may pose challenges in public education messaging.  

 

 

 

 

 


