
 

 
 

 
March 6, 2025 

 
 

Senate Committee on Human Services 
	
	
Re: SB 1029, Caregiving Child Exemption 
 
	

Dear Chair Gelser Blouin, Vice Chair Linthicum, and Members of the Committee,  
 
Oregon NAELA writes in strong support of SB 1029 and the request to amend ORS 411.620, 
411.708, and 416.350 to create more protection for caregiving children. Oregon NAELA is the 
Oregon Chapter of the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys, which is dedicated to improving 
the quality of legal services provided to older adults and people with disabilities. NAELA 
envisions a day when all older adults, people with disabilities, and their families have the legal, 
health, social and financial care they need to live their best lives.  
 
Caregiving children who move in with their parents and who provide a level of care that prevents 
their parents from relying on Medicaid benefits are providing services for their parents, their family 
members, and for Oregonians at large.  
 
Caregiving children keep their parents off Medicaid services for a period of at least two years, and 
some continue to provide care even after Medicaid eligibility that keeps their parents out of care 
facilities for the duration of their lives. In doing so, caregiving children miss out on employment 
opportunities and promotions in their own lives and miss out on opportunities to contribute to their 
own retirement.  
 
As you may know, Oregonians who require long-term care (at home and/or in a care facility) and 
who do not have enough money to pay for their own long-term care may qualify for Medicaid 
services to help cover their monthly care expenses. Medicaid services help pay for long term care 
for individuals who meet certain income and resource eligibility requirements.   
 
Many have heard about the “spenddown” process that takes place before qualifying for Medicaid 
services. It is the process in which an individual or married couple must spend or “spenddown” 
their countable resources to be within Medicaid countable resource limits to qualify for Medicaid 
services. Elder law attorneys help their clients to identify the most strategic and appropriate ways 
to spenddown because some spenddown methods are not allowed and/or carry penalties that result 
in periods of disqualification for the individual seeking Medicaid services.  For example, if gifts 



of cash, real property, vehicles, etc. are made within the 5-year period prior to applying for 
Medicaid services, a disqualification penalty will be assessed. The length of the disqualification 
for Medicaid services is calculated based on total amount/s gifted within the that 5-year period. 
 
Nonetheless, there are some exceptions, and one such exception permits a parent to transfer their 
interest in their primary residence to a caregiving child without penalty when certain requirements 
are met.   
 
However, the caregiving child exception is a “use it or lose it” exception and, currently in Oregon, 
requires that the primary residence be transferred before the individual’s death. If a parent or their 
caregiving child is not aware of this option prior to the parent’s death, the home becomes subject 
to estate recovery.  Estate recovery is a process in which the State of Oregon seeks recovery against 
assets that remain in the expanded probate estate of the Medicaid recipient. Estate recovery seeks 
to recover the amount that the State of Oregon paid for care on behalf of the Medicaid recipient 
during their life. This means that caregiving children who could have otherwise qualified for a 
caregiving child transfer of the primary residence prior to their parent’s death miss out on the 
opportunity to receive title to that primary residence – and instead, they are forced to sell the 
residence after their parent’s death to pay the estate recovery claim. This adversely impacts 
caregiving children who are unaware that they qualify for this exemption prior to their parent’s 
death.  
 
SB1029 seeks to equalize the treatment of all of those who qualify as Caregiving children by 
removing the requirement that the primary residence transfer must take place prior to the death of 
the Medicaid recipient.  Instead, while it permits traditional Caregiving child transfers to continue 
to take place, it also provides for the transfer to take place after the Medicaid recipient’s death.  SB 
1029 prevents estate recovery against a primary residence of a Medicaid recipient when the 
Medicaid recipient is survived by their caregiving child.  
 
SB 1029 also supports housing security in Oregon, as Caregiving children are often living in, 
investing in, contributing to mortgages, property taxes, etc. for their parent’s home – while they 
are there caring for their parents.   
 
Therefore, Oregon NAELA urges you to support SB 1029! 
 
Sincerely, 
 
 
 
Kay Hyde Patton, President 
Oregon NAELA 
 
For questions, contact: 
  
Maureen McGee 
OR NAELA Lobbyist 
maureen.mcgee@tonkon.com 


