March 2, 2025

## Position on Bills at 2025 Session of Oregon Legislature:

## SB 586 : Oppose



The Oregon Progressive Party opposes SB 586, which would reduce the length of the required notice period, from 90 days to 45 days after the fixed-term concludes, that a landlord must provide a tenant before termination of their rental agreement, if the landlord has accepted an offer to sell the dwelling unit.

Having 90 days to find a new unit and move gives tenants a small cushion to make the transition, which is occurring through no fault of their own. They need time to save for a new deposit, as the previous one is not due until 31 days after they vacate. Asking regular Oregonians to save \$1,500- \$2,000 for a deposit in 45 days is an unreasonable expectation. Additionally, changing notice periods confuses both landlords and tenants, as more complicated rules make compliance more difficult for unsophisticated parties.

ORS Chapter 90 does not need more loopholes to reduce tenants' rights.

## **Oregon Progressive Party**

Daniel Meek authorized testifier dan@meek.net 503-293-9021