

The League of Women Voters of Oregon, established in 1920, is a grassroots nonpartisan political organization that encourages informed and active participation in government. We envision informed Oregonians participating in a fully accessible, responsive, and transparent government to achieve the common good. LWVOR Legislative Action is based on advocacy positions formed through studies and member consensus. The League never supports or opposes any candidate or political party.

February 27, 2025

To: Representative Thuy Tran, Chair, House Committee on Emergency Management,

General Government, and Veterans

Re: HB 3450 – Energy Storage Transition Planning – Comment

LWVOR has strong positions on air quality, land use, water quality, protecting our coastal resources, public health, and climate change. LWVOR believes that all levels of government share the responsibility of coordinating, implementing and funding an effective program to mitigate Oregon's earthquake and tsunami hazards. Priority must be given to mitigation that protects human life and safeguards critical life-support systems. When siting critical facilities, seismic factors such as severe ground shaking, liquefaction, massive landslide potential, and subsidence should be considered. LWVOR has been working on seismic issues since 1995. In 2022, LWVOR endorsed SB 1567 as an initial step towards statewide energy infrastructure resilience and geographic diversity.

LWVOR agrees with the urgent need for a transition plan for the storage of bulk oils and liquid fuels held in the CEI Hub. The bill needs amendments to clarify both the objectives of such a plan and the process used to achieve those objectives. For instance, it would help to identify what is meant by "resilience of the energy sector".

Thank you for the opportunity to discuss this legislation.

Barbara Klein

Acting President LWVOR

Bouldan Klein

Claudia Keith

Climate Emergency Coordinator

Laura Rogers

Critical Energy Infrastructure

Nikki Mandell

Critical Energy Infrastructure

with Mandy

Cc: Rep. Dacia Grayber, Rep. Rick Lewis, Rep. Court Boice, Rep. Paul Evans,

Rep. Alek Skarlatos, Rep. Mari Wanatanbe