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Oregon Public Health Division 

Health Promotion & Chronic Disease Prevention Section 

Tina Kotek, Governor

Date February 27, 2025 

 

TO: The Honorable Nathan Sosa, Chair 

 House Committee on Commerce and Consumer Protection 

 

FROM:  Dean Sidelinger, MD, Health Officer and State Epidemiologist 

 Office of the State Public Health Director 

 Public Health Division 

 Oregon Health Authority 

  971-673-0716 

 

SUBJECT:  HB 2528 - Closing Tobacco Prevention Loopholes 

 

Chair Sosa and members of the committee, I am Dr. Dean Sidelinger, Health Officer and 

State Epidemiologist of the Oregon Health Authority.  

 

I am writing to express OHA’s support for HB 2528 with the -1 amendment. This bill fixes 

state tobacco laws to comprehensively regulate tobacco product sales and decrease youth 

access to addictive nicotine products.  

 

In Oregon, tobacco use takes over 8,000 lives every year and costs $5.7 billion in medical 

expenses and lost productivity. Consistent, comprehensive and equitable regulation of 

tobacco and nicotine products can reduce the number of Oregon children and young adults 

that become addicted to tobacco, help current tobacco users quit, reduce health care costs and 

deaths.  

Current loopholes in the Oregon tobacco retail laws put youth at risk of addiction and 

lifelong health problems. Tobacco companies constantly innovate and create new products to 

get around state public health laws. For example, oral nicotine products, such as nicotine 

pouches, gum, tablets, and gummies, aren’t currently covered by Oregon’s tobacco retail 

laws yet are heavily marketed, including in youth-friendly flavors like mint and exotic 

mango. 
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All commercial tobacco products, regardless of the source of nicotine, pose a significant risk 

to public health and create an obstacle to health equity due to the addictive properties of 

nicotine, and increased risk for disease, cancer and death. Products that contain tobacco 

derived from tobacco leaf or synthetic lab-made nicotine are not designed to help people quit 

smoking. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) considers oral nicotine products to 

be commercial tobacco products and nicotine pouches are the fastest-growing product on the 

U.S. tobacco market. Many states, however, including Oregon, do not have comprehensive 

state laws to sufficiently regulate oral nicotine products. Consequently, the Oregon Tobacco 

Retail License Program lacks the authority to enforce critical, evidence-based retail 

regulations like the minimum legal sales age on these nicotine products. This means that state 

inspectors are unable to respond to complaints by parents and community members about 

these products being sold to people under 21 years old. Oral nicotine products are also 

untaxed since they are not defined as tobacco products in Oregon. so These two regulatory 

gaps make oral nicotine products cheap and easy to get – for everyone, especially youth.  HB 

2528 closes these regulatory loopholes and gives Oregon the ability to regulate all nicotine 

products, protecting youth from a growing market of unregulated, deadly nicotine products. 

 

In 2021, the Oregon Legislature created the Oregon Tobacco Retail License Program to hold 

retailers accountable to tobacco retail sales laws. Since program inspections began in 2022, 

the state has seen significant declines in sales to underage people – from 26% of retailers 

selling illegally in 2022 to only 14% of retailers in 2024. In its first three years of operation, 

the Tobacco Retail License Program has also identified fixes to tobacco retail regulations that 

would reduce confusion around tobacco retail laws. HB 2528 includes these 

recommendations. 

 

First, Oregon prohibits the online sales of tobacco products and e-cigarettes. However, 

existing statute only prohibits delivery services that rely on independent contractors such as 

DoorDash, Instacart, or Uber Eats to fulfill deliveries. There are Oregon businesses that sell 

tobacco products online and offer delivery provided by their retail employees, not the 

independent contractors prohibited by statute. HB 2528 would close this face-to-face delivery 

loophole. Tightening remote sales regulations for tobacco products and Inhalant Delivery 

Systems (IDS) will decrease access to these addictive products without proper age 

verification. 

 

Second, Oregon tobacco prevention partners have observed tobacco products and inhalant 

delivery systems (IDS) in giveaway prize machines accessible to youth. This violates federal 

law, but Oregon lacks a comparable state law. HB 2528 creates a comparable state law to 

prohibit tobacco products and IDS from being prizes that youth can win without age 
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verification. 

Third, HB 2528 reduces confusion for retailers and retail employees on penalties for tobacco 

retail sales violations. Oregon has two sets of tobacco control laws in place – one for 

businesses, and one for individuals. Having two sets of laws makes it hard for business 

owners, staff, other enforcement programs, and the public to understand the consequences of 

tobacco sales violations. HB 2528 clarifies OHA’s civil authority to hold retailers responsible 

for tobacco violations and removes individual criminal penalties. Closing this regulatory 

loophole is critical to comprehensively enforcing tobacco restrictions and will reduce concern 

from retailers they are being charged with a criminal offense. The Oregon Tobacco Retail 

License program will provide the infrastructure for outreach, education and enforcement for 

retailers to ensure they are aware of and comply with the changes proposed in HB 2528. 

 

Fourth, OHA works closely with the Department of Revenue to implement the Tobacco 

Retail License Program. With the -1 amendment, OHA’s rule-making authority will parallel 

Department of Revenue’s authority for tobacco retail sales laws assigned to each agency. The 

-1 also extends the implementation date for taxation updates to support smooth DOR 

implementation of tax changes.  

 

Together, these changes will address the substantial increase in youth access to nicotine 

products and improve health equity for all people in Oregon. 

 

In summary, OHA supports HB 2528 with the -1 amendment because it takes important steps 

toward reducing youth nicotine addiction and reducing tobacco-driven health inequities. The 

bill will give Oregon the ability to regulate all nicotine products, protecting youth from a 

growing market of unregulated tobacco products.  

 

Thank you for the opportunity to provide testimony today. 


