

Department of Transportation

Director's Office 355 Capitol St. NE, MS 11 Salem, OR 97301

DATE: Feb. 18, 2025

TO: Joint Committee on Transportation

FROM: Amy Joyce, DMV Administrator, Oregon Department of Transportation

SUBJECT: HB 2660 – RV Trip Permits for Out-of-State Purchasers

INTRODUCTION

Under current law ODOT issues recreational vehicle (RV) trip permits allowing the unregistered use of campers, travel trailers, and motor homes for up to 10 days in a 12-month period. RV owners can buy multiple permits for less than 10 days, but the total days for a 12-month period cannot be more than 10. This is true regardless of whether the permit purchaser resides in Oregon or another state. RV trip permits cost \$35 per issuance.

DISCUSSION

DMV has no position on this bill; we simply wish to call the committee's attention to the two items highlighted below.

First, the bill allows a 30-day trip permit for RVs purchased by people who do not reside in Oregon and will not be titling and registering that RV here. They may purchase up to two of these 30-day permits. As discussed above, current law allows RV permits, without limitation on the residence of the purchaser, but they last only 10 days. The price for the current permit and for the permit proposed in this bill are the same. The bill would result in non-residents having access to a heavily discounted RV trip permit option, based on cost per day, relative to that which would be available to Oregon residents. The revenue for either permit, after cost of issuance, goes to the Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD). Therefore, any loss in potential revenue attributable to this bill, would impact OPRD—not ODOT.

Second, if this bill passes, DMV expects that a relatively small number of these trip permits for outof-state RV purchasers would be issued by RV dealers. As such, DMV would implement this bill by requiring the permits to be issued through the department's on-line portal, which is exclusively available to Oregon dealers and free for them to use. This process would keep implementation and operational costs down for the agency.

CONCLUSION

This bill would authorize DMV to offer two RV trip permits for up to 30 days to non-residents who purchase RVs in Oregon and do not intend to register and title the vehicle in Oregon. This would result in non-residents having access to a heavily discounted RV trip permit option, based on cost per



Department of Transportation

Director's Office 355 Capitol St. NE, MS 11 Salem, OR 97301

day, relative to that which would be available to Oregon residents. DMV would implement this bill by requiring the non-resident permits to be issued through the department's online portal to keep implementation and operational costs down.