REGISTERED
OREGON

OUTHTTER Outfitter Guide

OREGDM STATE MARINE BOARD

Fee Restructure
HB 2558




Who is an Compensation

Outfitter Guide ?

(ORS 704.010)

Outdoor Land
Recreational or




Outfitter Guide
Registration
Service Types

Fishing

Scenic Tours
Whitewater

Hunting

Photography
Canoe/Kayak/Paddle Craft
Bird Watching
Nature/Eco Hikes
Wilderness Adventures
Backcountry

Other

Bicycling

Rock Climbing
Equestrian Rides

Youth Program

Dune Buggy/ATV

17

10

Service Types 2024

Outfitter Guides

m2017 m2018 w2019 m2020 m2021

2022 m2023



Why Outfitter

Guide Program
Matters

Ensures consumers of guided
recreation in the outdoors are
serviced by individuals and
businesses who meet the
registration and safety
requirements in ORS 704.

* Registration (occupational license)

* Application, SOS registry, certificate of insurance,
surety bond, employee list, fee, federal permits

 Safety Requirements

e Background check, first aid, CPR, MMC/MPBOC
licenses, drug consortium enrollment

* Enforcement
* False Applications (criminal background)
* |llegal Guiding (unlicensed)
* |nsufficient Safety Equipment
* Fish & Wildlife Crimes
* Ethical & Professional Standards



* OG program expenditures continue to
exceed revenues

Problems Trying
To Solve  The last OG fee increase was in 2014

* Oregon State Police OG enforcement
contract for 2021-23 and 2023-25 has not
changed at $342,025; unable to fully fund

* OSP requesting $501,881 for Current Service
Level (CSL) for 2025-27




e Current non-resident OG fee structure
(reciprocity) does not align with interstate

Problems Trying commerce laws
To Solve

* The state currently charges less to residents in
pursuit of a common occupation license (OG
registration) to the detriment of some non-
resident competitors who pay more

e Differential in non-resident vs resident fees
must be validated in showing actual burden
(charging more to non-residents for
occupational license)




Interstate
Commerce Law
Misalighment

Deck hand/crew member designation/classification (2023)
Charter boat operated by Outfitter Guide (2023)

Hunting guide surety bond requirement to $10,000 (2023)
Motorboat definition, regarding motor in use (2023)

GAC membership, selection not just associations (2023)
Turn In Poacher (TIP) Program participation (2023)

Proof of worker compensation for employees

Add “arrested and cited” in background disclosures
Congruent background check requirements for Charter/OG

Add out-of-state “convictions and felonies” in background
actions equivalent to Oregon convictions



* ORS 704.020(4)(b).... distinctions in fees or charges based
on the type of outfitter and guide service performed....
apply those same distinctions and require the nonresident

ReCip rOCity & applicants to pay the corresponding fees or charges
Non-resident
e Current Oregon OG Fees:
FeeS * Resident $150
» California $652

» Washington (Fishing Below Longview Bridge)  $2,575
* Washington (Fishing Above Longview Bridge)  $1,490
(

* Washington (Fishing Non-Navigable) $760
» Washington (All other services) $150
* Arizona (Hunting & Fishing) $300
* Nevada (Hunting & Fishing) $250
* Nevada (Other services) $150

* Other states not listed (any service) $150




Non-resident
Reciprocity
Equals Budget
Majority

2021
* 6.9% (95) guides paid more than $150
* 44% of total OG fee revenue ($152,869)

2022
* 6.8% (100) guides paid more than $150
* 44% of total OG fee revenue ($162,458)

2023
* 6.8% (104) guides paid more than $150
» 42% of total OG fee revenue ($166,195)

* Large fee increase required to offset the revenue
gap created by higher fees currently charged for
annual non-resident OG registration



Proposed
Legislation

Restructure fees so that an annual OG registration is
the same for an Oregon resident and non-resident

* The annual fee proposed is $350

Establish an annual registration fee for an OG
employee to offset agency processing costs of guide
employees, currently no fee collected

* The annualfee proposed is $25

Increase OG civil penalties for first and subsequent
violations

* The proposed civil penalty not to exceed amount is $1,000

Modify (simplify) “Charter Guide” definition



Omit the proposed $25 employee registration fee

PI’Oposed Establish an additional fee for Charter Guides
Legis latio N * The proposed additional annual fee is $150

* Charter guides are the most resource demanding for the
program, significant enforcement effort and oversight

Establish “crew member” definition, currently
considered OG under ORS 704.010(4)

* “Assists with angling activities.. while aboard a boat.. under
the direct supervision of a charter guide or outfitter and guide”

Establish annual Crew Member registration and fee
* The proposed annual registration fee is $50




Restructure fees so that an annual OG registration is
the same for an Oregon resident and non-resident

P ro posed * The annual registration fee proposed is $350
Legislation

Establish an additional fee for Charter Guides
* The annual additional fee proposed is $150

Establish registration and fee for Crew Member
* The annual registration fee proposed is $50

Increase OG civil penalties for first and subsequent
violations
* The proposed civil penalty not to exceed amount is $1,000
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