

February 12, 2025

Senate Committee on Energy and Environment Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301

RE: SB 551 – Support

Chair Sollman, Vice-Chair Brock Smith, and Members of the Committee,

Association of Oregon Recyclers (AOR) is a 501(c)6 committed to supporting policies that promote highquality recycling and composting, thoughtful consumption, and producer responsibility. AOR's diverse membership includes more than 200 businesses, governments, nonprofits and individuals working together on the common goal of achieving a system of sustainable materials management in Oregon. We believe the producers that manufacture and sell products to Oregonians should have a role in how products are managed at the end of their usable life. Equity and community partnerships are also centered in our guiding principles because we believe the reuse, repair and recycling economy should benefit everyone, including communities of color and rural areas. Our principles around equity and the environment are why AOR supports SB 551.

AOR supports SB 551 to advance waste reduction and reduce the impact of single-use plastic shopping bags on Oregon's recycling system and landfills. Plastic bags are a contaminant in home and business recycling bins and when included get tangled in the equipment used to sort and process materials which poses hazards to workers and leads to costly delays at recycling facilities. Single-use plastic bag bans are an effective way to reduce our reliance on plastics and help keep it out of our recycling bins and landfills.

SB 551 also supports waste reduction by encouraging shoppers to use reusable bags. SB 551 is consistent with AOR's vision and commitment to achieving a system committed to sustainable materials management in Oregon as the bill supports waste reduction, reducing plastics in the environment, and thoughtful consumption.

AOR urges your support for this important piece of legislation.

Sincerely,

Joel Schoening Chair, Association of Oregon Recyclers

## 2024-2025 AOR BOARD

Chair: Joel Schoening, Resource Recycling Systems | Secretary: Elizabeth Cole, City of Beaverton | Treasurer: Laura Leebrick, Rogue Disposal | Conference Co-Chairs: Danielle Womble, Waste Connections | Lexi Howell, North Lincoln Sanitary | Legislative Chair: Thomas Egleston, Metro | Members-at-Large: Maya Buelow, Lane County | Jeff Murray, EFI Recycling | Holly Stirnkorb, Metro | Eric Ahnmark, Recology