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| strongly support HB 3201. Oregon is one of only 12 states + D.C. that still impose a
state-level estate tax. The $1 million exemption in Oregon is one of the lowest in the
country. (Most states that have an estate tax have exemptions between $2.5 million
and $9.1 million). Additionally, Oregon’s Estate Tax Rate goes up to 16% which is
among the highest in the nation.

The current $1 million exemption is quite burdensome for working families.
Furthermore, this $1 million exemption has not been updated since 2006. Folks who
are actually wealthy can afford to buy a second home outside of Oregon and
establish residency there (which simply requires people to only live outside of Oregon
six months out of each year) to strategically avoid Oregon's onerous estate tax laws.
(California, Idaho, Nevada, and Arizona have NO state estate tax.) It's called "estate
planning” to mitigate Oregon's estate taxes and only the wealthy can afford to do this.
Let's make Oregon' estate tax laws more equitable, especially for non-wealthy,
working families.



