# EO CA

#### **Eastern Oregon Counties Association**

1106 K Avenue, La Grande, OR 97850

(541) 786-8799

## Senate Bill 780

January 31, 2025

#### How we got here

In 1998 the Oregon County Fairs Commission and the Oregon Fairs Association worked with the Oregon Legislature to establish a 1% of Oregon Lottery funds to be disbursed to county fairs throughout Oregon based on a scoring system established and calculated by the Oregon County Fairs Commission. Although the proceeds from the 1% Lottery funds did not reach at the time, a cap of \$1.53 million to be adjusted annually for inflation.

In 2008, during very critical and dire budget shortfalls in Oregon, the Oregon County Fairs Commission and Oregon Fairs Association pro-actively offered funding concessions. The county fairs offered a 10% reduction in funding and settled on 5% with the legislature. At that time there was a legislative commitment to removing the \$1.53 million cap and continue with a flat 1% as the fiscal health of Oregon rebounded. In 2009, the \$1.53 million cap had been reached.

2009 moving forward. By 2016 the State of Oregon's fiscal health had stabilized/grown and lottery funds continued to grow and Oregon County Fairs again began the effort to regain the 1% of lottery funds without the cap.

#### What does it mean

Oregon's 36 fairgrounds have evolved to year-round emergency response centers, centralized county health outreach facilities, regional evacuation centers for humans and animals, multiple discipline training grounds and much, much more. Oregon County fairgrounds are first priority critical infrastructure for the State of Oregon and are the heart of our strongest community resilience.

# What is the ask (SB 780)

It is the simplest ask in this legislative session. Eliminate the \$1.53 million cap and fund Oregon

<u>County Fairgrounds/Fairs at 1% of lottery funds.</u> This request will not have an effect on any other statutorily dedicated lottery funded program. This is a request grounded in historical negotiations and at the same time prepares Oregon for the emergency challenges we can and cannot anticipate.

## Thank you for your support

Eastern Oregon Counties Association County Commissioners and Judges:

Matt Scarfo, Union County

Celinda A Chamana

Dan P. Joyce Dan Joycce, Malhuer County

Dan Dorran, Umatilla County

John A. Rowell

John Rowell, Grant County

Celinda Timmons, Umatilla County

Susan Hermreck, Crook County

B. Shullanley

Barry Shullanberger, Lake County

John Seavert

Jake Seaver, Union County

Michelle Kasabury

Michelle Kaseberg, Baker County

Christina Witham, Baker County

Derrick DeGroot, Klamath County

Patty Dorroh, Harney County

Kelly Simmelink, Lake County

Jim Hamsher, Grant County

Cris Patnode

1/Amsher

Brian Barney, Crook County

Tony DeBone, Deschutes County

Cric Dat

Cris Patnode, Gilliam County

Joe Dabulskis, Sherman County

Paul Anderes, Union County

Rob Frank, Harney County

Mitch Wilson, Grant County

Math Whi

Snore m Alderson

Shane Alderson, Baker County

Mark Albertson