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HB 3544-B8

(LC 3657)

6/26/25 (DJ/AG/ps)

Requested by JOINT COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO

B-ENGROSSED HOUSE BILL 3544

(INCLUDING AMENDMENTS TO RESOLVE CONFLICTS)

On page 1 of the printed B-engrossed bill, line 2, delete “and”.

In line 5, after “543.765” insert “and sections 30, 33a and 48, chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342); and repealing sections 5, 32,

33 and 39, chapter 282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342)”.

On page 3, after line 41, insert:

“SECTION 3a. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 3 of this 2025 Act

is amended to read:

“Sec. 3. (1) To initiate a contested case proceeding that is subject to this

section and section 2 of this 2025 Act:

“(a) Any person may submit a protest against a proposed final order.

“(b) Unless a timeline is otherwise specified under ORS chapter 537, 540

or 541, the protest must be submitted within 45 days after publication of the

notice of the proposed final order in a weekly public notice of the Water

Resources Department or, if weekly public notice is not required, within 45

days after issuance of notice of the proposed final order.

“(c) The protest must:

“(A) Be in writing;

“(B) Include the name, address and telephone number of the protestant;

“(C) Include a description of the protestant’s interest in the proposed final

order and, if the protestant claims to represent the public interest, a precise
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statement of the public interest represented;

“(D) Include a detailed description of how the action proposed in the

proposed final order would impair or be detrimental to the protestant’s in-

terest;

“(E) Raise an issue with sufficient specificity to allow response to the

issue, as described in subsection (3)(b) of this section;

“(F) Identify any citation of legal authority supporting the protest, if

known; and

“(G) Include the protest fee required under ORS 536.050.

“(2) If a protest is submitted [as described in subsection (5) of this

section], within 30 days after the deadline for filing a protest:

“(a) Any person who supports the proposed final order may file a request

for party status for the purpose of participating in any contested case pro-

ceeding on the proposed final order or for judicial review of a final order

resulting from the proposed final order.

“(b) The request for party status must:

“(A) Be in writing.

“(B) Meet all requirements established in rule by the Water Resources

Commission.

“(C) Include the fees described in ORS 536.050 (1)(n) and (o).

“(3) In a contested case proceeding under this section:

“(a) A hearing need not occur if:

“(A) All issues in the contested case are resolved as part of a settlement;

“(B) The protest is withdrawn; or

“(C) The protestant defaults.

“(b) A protest must raise an issue with sufficient specificity to allow re-

sponse to the issue. To raise an issue with sufficient specificity, the protest

must:

“(A) Identify the recommended findings of fact, conclusions of law or

conditions of approval to which the protestant objects; and
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“(B) Explain how the issues raised in the protest are within the jurisdic-

tion of the department.

“(c) Not later than the end of the protest period, each person that submits

a protest shall raise all reasonably ascertainable issues and submit all rea-

sonably available arguments that support the person’s position.

“(d) A failure to raise a reasonably ascertainable issue in a protest or a

failure to provide sufficient specificity to afford the department an opportu-

nity to respond to the issue precludes judicial review of that issue.

“(4) If no protest on a proposed final order that is subject to this section

and section 2 of this 2025 Act is timely received, as a matter of law, the

proposed final order shall become a final order on the date that is 33 days

after the close of the time period for submitting a protest, with no further

action required by the department.

“(5) Notwithstanding subsection (4) of this section, not more than 33 days

after the close of the time period for submitting a protest, the department

may withdraw a proposed final order for reconsideration and issuance of a

superseding proposed final order.

“(6) The department shall refund the fees described in ORS 536.050 (1)(o)

if party status is denied.

“(7) The Water Resources Commission may adopt rules necessary to im-

plement this section.”.

On page 7, after line 9, insert:

“SECTION 5a. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 32, chapter

282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342) (amending ORS

537.153), is repealed and ORS 537.153, as amended by section 5 of this

2025 Act, is amended to read:

“537.153. (1) Within 60 days after the Water Resources Department pro-

ceeds with the application under ORS 537.150 (5)(c), the department shall

complete application review and issue a proposed final order approving or

denying the application or approving the application with modifications or

 HB 3544-B8 6/26/25
 Proposed Amendments to B-Eng. HB 3544 (A to RC) Page 3



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

conditions. The department may request the applicant to provide additional

information needed to complete the review. If the department requests addi-

tional information, the request shall be specific and shall be sent to the ap-

plicant by registered mail. The department shall specify a date by which the

information must be returned, which shall be not less than 10 days after the

department mails the request to the applicant. If the department does not

receive the information or a request for a time extension under ORS 537.175

by the date specified in the request, the department may reject the applica-

tion and may refund fees in accordance with ORS 536.050 (4)(a). The time

period specified by the department in a request for additional information

shall allow the department to comply with the 60-day time limit established

by this subsection.

“(2) In reviewing the application under subsection (1) of this section, the

department shall presume that a proposed use will not impair or be detri-

mental to the public interest if the proposed use is allowed in the applicable

basin program established pursuant to ORS 536.300 and 536.340 or given a

preference under ORS 536.310 (12), if water is available, if the proposed use

will not injure other water rights and if the proposed use complies with rules

of the Water Resources Commission. This shall be a rebuttable presumption

and may be overcome by a preponderance of evidence that either:

“(a) One or more of the criteria for establishing the presumption are not

satisfied; or

“(b) The proposed use will impair or be detrimental to the public interest

as demonstrated in comments, in a protest under section 3 of this 2025 Act

or in a finding of the department that shows:

“(A) The specific public interest under ORS 537.170 (5) that would be im-

paired or detrimentally affected; and

“(B) Specifically how the identified public interest would be impaired or

detrimentally affected.

“(3) The proposed final order shall cite findings of fact and conclusions
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of law and shall include but need not be limited to:

“(a) Confirmation or modification of the preliminary determinations made

in the initial review;

“(b) A brief statement that explains the criteria considered relevant to the

decision, including the applicable basin program and the compatibility of the

proposed use with applicable land use plans;

“(c) An assessment of water availability and the amount of water neces-

sary for the proposed use;

“(d) An assessment of whether the proposed use would result in injury to

existing water rights;

“(e) An assessment of whether the proposed use would impair or be det-

rimental to the public interest as provided in ORS 537.170;

“(f) A draft permit, including any proposed conditions, or a recommen-

dation to deny the application;

“(g) Whether the rebuttable presumption that the proposed use will not

impair or be detrimental to the public interest has been established; and

“(h) The date by which protests to the proposed final order must be re-

ceived by the department.

“(4) The department shall mail copies of the proposed final order to the

applicant and to persons who have requested copies and paid the fee required

under ORS 536.050 (1)(p). The department also shall publish notice of the

proposed final order by publication in the weekly public notice published

by the department.

“(5) A person who asks to receive a copy of the department’s final order

shall submit to the department the fee required under ORS 536.050 (1)(p),

unless the person has previously requested copies and has paid the fee re-

quired under ORS 537.150 (7), the person is a protestant and has paid the fee

required under ORS 536.050 (1)(j) or the person has party status and has paid

the fees required under ORS 536.050 (1)(n) and (o).

“(6) The provisions of sections 2 and 3 of this 2025 Act, and rules adopted
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thereunder, apply to a contested case proceeding on a proposed final order

issued under this section.

“(7) Within 60 days after the close of the period for receiving protests, if

a protest was timely submitted, the Water Resources Director shall:

“(a) Issue a final order as provided under ORS 537.170 (1) or (2), if the

applicant has not filed a protest and the director finds that there are no

significant issues related to the proposed use of water;

“(b) Schedule a contested case hearing if a protest has been submitted;

or

“(c) Provide any person who timely submitted a protest or request for

party status with an estimate of the timing of referring the contested case

to the Office of Administrative Hearings for a hearing and notice that par-

ties may provide settlement proposals.”.

On page 17, after line 1, insert:

“SECTION 16a. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 33, chapter

282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342) (amending ORS

537.621), is repealed and ORS 537.621, as amended by section 16 of this

2025 Act, is amended to read:

“537.621. (1) Within 60 days after the Water Resources Department pro-

ceeds with the application under ORS 537.620 (5)(c), the department shall

complete application review and issue a proposed final order approving or

denying the application or approving the application with modifications or

conditions. The department may request the applicant to provide additional

information needed to complete the review. If the department requests addi-

tional information, the request shall be specific and shall be sent to the ap-

plicant by registered mail. The department shall specify a date by which the

information must be returned, which shall be not less than 10 days after the

department mails the request to the applicant. If the department does not

receive the information or a request for a time extension under ORS 537.627

by the date specified in the request, the department may reject the applica-
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tion and may refund fees in accordance with ORS 536.050 (4)(a). The time

period specified by the department in a request for additional information

shall allow the department to comply with the 60-day time limit established

by this subsection.

“(2) In reviewing the application under subsection (1) of this section, the

department shall determine whether the proposed use will ensure the pres-

ervation of the public welfare, safety and health as described in ORS 537.525.

The department shall presume that a proposed use will ensure the preserva-

tion of the public welfare, safety and health if the proposed use is allowed

in the applicable basin program established pursuant to ORS 536.300 and

536.340 or given a preference under ORS 536.310 (12), if water is available,

if the proposed use will not injure other water rights and if the proposed use

complies with rules of the Water Resources Commission. This shall be a

rebuttable presumption and may be overcome by a preponderance of evidence

that either:

“(a) One or more of the criteria for establishing the presumption are not

satisfied; or

“(b) The proposed use would not ensure the preservation of the public

welfare, safety and health as demonstrated in comments, in a protest under

section 3 of this 2025 Act or in a finding of the department that shows:

“(A) The specific aspect of the public welfare, safety and health under

ORS 537.525 that would be impaired or detrimentally affected; and

“(B) Specifically how the identified aspect of the public welfare, safety

and health under ORS 537.525 would be impaired or be adversely affected.

“(3) The proposed final order shall cite findings of fact and conclusions

of law and shall include but need not be limited to:

“(a) Confirmation or modification of the preliminary determinations made

in the initial review;

“(b) A brief statement that explains the criteria considered relevant to the

decision, including the applicable basin program and the compatibility of the
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proposed use with applicable land use plans;

“(c) An assessment of water availability and the amount of water neces-

sary for the proposed use;

“(d) An assessment of whether the proposed use would result in injury to

existing water rights;

“(e) An assessment of whether the proposed use would ensure the preser-

vation of the public welfare, safety and health as described in ORS 537.525;

“(f) A draft permit, including any proposed conditions, or a recommen-

dation to deny the application;

“(g) Whether the rebuttable presumption under subsection (2) of this sec-

tion has been established;

“(h) The date by which protests to the proposed final order must be re-

ceived by the department; and

“(i) The flow rate and duty of water allowed.

“(4) In establishing the flow rate and duty of water allowed, the depart-

ment may consider a general basin-wide standard, but first shall evaluate

information submitted by the applicant to demonstrate the need for a flow

rate and duty higher than the general standard. If the applicant provides

such information, the department shall authorize the requested rate and duty

except upon specific findings related to the application to support a deter-

mination that a lesser amount is needed. If the applicant does not provide

information to demonstrate the need for a flow rate and duty higher than the

general basin-wide standard, the department may apply the general standards

without specific findings related to the application.

“(5) The department shall mail copies of the proposed final order to the

applicant and to persons who have requested copies and paid the fee required

under ORS 536.050 (1)(p). The department also shall publish notice of the

proposed final order by publication in the weekly public notice published

by the department.

“(6) The provisions of sections 2 and 3 of this 2025 Act, and rules adopted

 HB 3544-B8 6/26/25
 Proposed Amendments to B-Eng. HB 3544 (A to RC) Page 8



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

thereunder, apply to a contested case proceeding on a proposed final order

issued under this section.

“(7) Any person who asks to receive a copy of the department’s final order

shall submit to the department the fee required under ORS 536.050 (1)(p),

unless the person has previously requested copies and paid the required fee

under ORS 537.620 (7), the person is a protestant and has paid the fee re-

quired under ORS 536.050 (1)(j) or the person has requested party status and

has paid the fee under ORS 536.050 (1)(n) and (o).

“(8) Within 60 days after the close of the period for receiving protests, if

a timely protest was submitted, the Water Resources Director shall:

“(a) Issue a final order as provided under ORS 537.625 (1), if the applicant

has not filed a protest and the director finds that there are no significant

issues related to the proposed use of water;

“(b) Schedule a contested case hearing if a protest has been submitted;

or

“(c) Provide any person who timely submitted a protest or request for

party status with an estimate of the timing of referring the case to the Office

of Administrative Hearings for a hearing and notice that parties may provide

settlement proposals.

“SECTION 16b. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 33a, chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), is amended to read:

“Sec. 33a. The amendments to ORS 537.153 and 537.621 by sections [32

and 33 of this 2025 Act] 5a and 16a of this 2025 Act apply to requests for

standing on proposed final orders issued on or after the operative date

specified in section 48 [of this 2025 Act], chapter 282, Oregon Laws 2025

(Enrolled House Bill 3342).”.

On page 20, after line 40, insert:

“SECTION 20a. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 5, chapter

282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342) (amending ORS

540.520), is repealed and ORS 540.520, as amended by section 20 of this

 HB 3544-B8 6/26/25
 Proposed Amendments to B-Eng. HB 3544 (A to RC) Page 9



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

2025 Act, is amended to read:

“540.520. (1)(a) Except when the application is made under ORS 541.327

or when an application for a temporary transfer is made under ORS 540.523,

if the holder of a water use subject to transfer for irrigation, domestic use,

manufacturing purposes, or other use, for any reason desires to change the

place of use, the point of diversion, or the use made of the water, an appli-

cation to make such change, as the case may be, shall be filed with the

Water Resources Department.

“(b) A holder of a water right certificate that authorizes the storage of

water may change the type of use identified in the water right certificate,

as described in this section.

“(2) The application required under subsection (1) of this section shall

include:

“(a) The name of the owner;

“(b) The previous use of the water;

“(c) A description of the premises upon which the water is used;

“(d) A description of the premises upon which it is proposed to use the

water;

“(e) The use that is proposed to be made of the water;

“(f) The reasons for making the proposed change; and

“(g) Evidence that the water has been used over the past five years ac-

cording to the terms and conditions of the owner’s water right certificate

or that the water right is not subject to forfeiture under ORS 540.610.

“(3) If the application required under subsection (1) of this section is

necessary to allow a change in a water right pursuant to ORS 537.348, is

necessary to complete a project funded under ORS 541.932, or is approved by

the State Department of Fish and Wildlife as a change that will result in a

net benefit to fish and wildlife habitat, the Water Resources Department,

at the discretion of the Water Resources Director, may waive or assist the

applicant in satisfying the requirements of subsection (2)(c) and (d) of this
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section. The assistance provided by the department may include, but need

not be limited to, development of an application map.

“(4) If the application is to change the point of diversion, the transfer

shall include a condition that the holder of the water right provide a proper

fish screen at the new point of diversion, if requested by the State Depart-

ment of Fish and Wildlife.

“[(5) Upon the filing of the application the department shall give notice by

publication in a newspaper having general circulation in the area in which the

water rights are located, for a period of at least two weeks and not less than

one publication each week. The notice shall include the date on which the last

notice by publication will occur. The cost of the publication shall be paid by

the applicant in advance to the department. In applications for only a change

in place of use or for a change in the point of diversion of less than one-fourth

mile, and where there are no intervening diversions between the old diversion

of the applicant and the proposed new diversion, no newspaper notice need be

published. The department shall include notice of such applications in the

weekly notice published by the department.]

“(5) The Water Resources Department shall undertake an initial

review of an application under subsection (1) of this section.

“(6)(a) Upon completion of the initial review, the department shall

notify the applicant of its preliminary determinations, identify any

outstanding information that is necessary to continue processing the

application and allow the applicant 30 days from the date of notice to:

“(A) Notify the department to stop processing the application; or

“(B) Notify the department to continue processing the application

and provide any outstanding information to the department.

“(b) If, within 30 days from the date of the notice, the applicant

does not notify the department as provided in paragraph (a) of this

subsection, does not provide all outstanding information as provided

in paragraph (a)(B) of this subsection or notifies the department to

 HB 3544-B8 6/26/25
 Proposed Amendments to B-Eng. HB 3544 (A to RC) Page 11



1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

stop processing the application, the department shall close the file for

the application and take no further action on the application. The de-

partment may allow an applicant up to 60 additional days to provide

outstanding information if the applicant requests additional time and

the department determines that the applicant is undertaking reason-

able efforts to provide the information in a timely manner to the de-

partment.

“(c) If, within 30 days from the date of the notice or an additional

time period allowed under paragraph (b) of this subsection, the appli-

cant notifies the department to proceed with the application and pro-

vides any outstanding information necessary to continue processing

the application, the department shall:

“(A) Proceed with processing the application.

“(B) Give notice of the initial review in the weekly public notice of

the department and accept written public comments for 30 days.

“(7) Upon issuance of a proposed final order, the department shall

give notice of the order in the weekly public notice of the department.

If the department determines that more than five water rights would

be injured as a result of the change proposed in an application under

subsection (1) of this section, the department shall publish notice once

each week for two consecutive weeks in a newspaper of general cir-

culation in the area in which the water rights are located. The cost

of the publication shall be paid by the applicant in advance to the de-

partment.

“[(6)] (8) [The department shall issue a proposed final order approving or

denying the application or approving the application with modifications or

conditions.] Within 30 days after the publication in the department’s weekly

public notice any person may file a protest against the proposed final order.

“[(7)] (9) The provisions of sections 2 and 3 of this 2025 Act, and rules

adopted thereunder, apply to a contested case proceeding on a proposed final
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order issued under this section.

“[(8)] (10) If in the opinion of the Water Resources Director a hearing is

necessary to determine whether the proposed changes as described by the

application would result in injury to existing water rights, the department

shall hold a hearing on the matter.

“[(9)] (11) An application for a change of use under this section is not

required if the beneficial use authorized by the water use subject to transfer

is irrigation and the owner of the water right uses the water for incidental

agricultural, stock watering and other uses related to irrigation use, so long

as there is no increase in the rate, duty, total acreage benefited or season

of use.

“[(10)] (12) A water right transfer under subsection (1) of this section is

not required for a general industrial use that was not included in a water

right certificate issued for a specific industrial use if:

“(a) The quantity of water used for the general industrial use is not

greater than the rate allowed in the original water right and not greater

than the quantity of water diverted to satisfy the authorized specific use

under the original water right;

“(b) The location where the water is to be used for general industrial use

was owned by the holder of the original water right at the time the water

right permit was issued; and

“(c) The person who makes the change in water use provides the following

information to the Water Resources Department:

“(A) The name and mailing address of the person using water under the

water right;

“(B) The water right certificate number;

“(C) A description of the location of the industrial facility owned by the

holder of the original water right at the time the water right permit was

issued; and

“(D) A description of the general industrial use to be made of the water
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after the change.”.

On page 21, after line 27, insert:

“SECTION 21a. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 39, chapter

282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342) (amending ORS

540.524), is repealed.

“SECTION 21b. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 30, chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), is amended to read:

“Sec. 30. Notwithstanding ORS 536.031 (1), sections 9, 24 and 29 [of this

2025 Act], chapter 282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), and

rules adopted thereunder, and the amendments to ORS 536.045, 537.145,

537.150, 537.211, 537.252, 537.470, 537.610, 537.620, [540.520,] 540.535, 540.585,

543.220, by sections 2 to 4, 6, 7, 14, 17, 19, 20, 37 and 42 [of this 2025 Act],

chapter 282, Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), and the

amendments to ORS 540.520 by section 20a of this 2025 Act, and rules

adopted thereunder, apply to applications and petitions submitted on or after

the operative date specified in section 48 [of this 2025 Act], chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342).

“SECTION 21c. If House Bill 3342 becomes law, section 48, chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), is amended to read:

“Sec. 48. (1) Sections 9, 13, 24, 29 and 31 [of this 2025 Act], chapter 282,

Oregon Laws 2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), and the amendments to ORS

536.045, 536.410, 537.145, 537.147, 537.150, [537.153,] 537.211, 537.225, 537.230,

537.252, 537.348, 537.470, 537.610, 537.620, [537.621,] 537.630, 538.450, [540.520,

540.524,] 540.535, 540.570, 540.580, 540.585, 543.220, 543A.035, 543A.040,

543A.055 and 543A.120 by sections 2 to 4, 6, 7, 10, 14, 17, 19, 20, 25, 26, [32,

33 and] 34 to 38 and 40 to 46 [of this 2025 Act], chapter 282, Oregon Laws

2025 (Enrolled House Bill 3342), become operative on April 1, 2026.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 537.153, 537.621 and 540.520 by sections

5a, 16a and 20a of this 2025 Act become operative on April 1, 2026.”.
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