Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 12

Sponsored by Senator NASH, Representative LEVY B (Presession filed.)

Whereas Robin A. Church was born on September 29, 1954, in La Grande, Oregon; and

Whereas the seed of Robin A. Church's future interest in public service was planted on November 7, 1972, when she voted in the first United States presidential election open to 18-year-olds; and

Whereas Robin A. Church began her service to the people of the State of Oregon when she joined the Union County Sheriff's Office in 1987; and

Whereas in 1991, Robin A. Church left the Union County Sheriff's Office and joined the Union County Clerk's Office, where she served as Chief Deputy and Deputy Clerk; and

Whereas Robin A. Church was appointed Union County Clerk in 2007, filling the unexpired term of outgoing clerk Nellie Bogue-Hibbert; and

Whereas Robin A. Church was first elected Union County Clerk in 2009, and would ultimately hold the position for more than 16 years; and

Whereas Robin A. Church served as the president of the Oregon Association of County Clerks in 2019; and

Whereas Robin A. Church was an early advocate for mail-in voting and an instrumental force behind Union County's transition to mail-in elections after Oregonians voted in 1998 to expand mail-in voting to primary and general elections; and

Whereas Robin A. Church helped count more than 750,000 ballots during her tenure as Union County Clerk; and

Whereas Robin A. Church retired as Union County Clerk in January 2023, leaving behind a legacy of efficiency and integrity; and

Whereas Robin A. Church was awarded the National Association of Secretaries of State Medallion Award in 2024 by Oregon Secretary of State LaVonne Griffin-Valade, acknowledging her unflappable dedication to democracy and further cementing her critical importance to the history of elections in Oregon; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor Robin A. Church for her outstanding service to the people of the State of Oregon.

Adopted by Senate March 4, 2025

Obadiah Rutledge, Secretary of Senate

Rob Wagner, President of Senate

Adopted by House May 19, 2025

Julie Fahey, Speaker of House

Enrolled Senate Concurrent Resolution 12 (SCR 12-INTRO)