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83rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2025 Regular Session

SENATE AMENDMENTS TO
SENATE BILL 690

By COMMITTEE ON RULES
June 13

In line 2 of the printed bill, after “health” insert “; creating new provisions; amending ORS
105.136; and declaring an emergency”.

After line 2, insert:

“Whereas Oregon ranks first in the nation for families with children experiencing unsheltered
homelessness and there are additional Oregon children who experience severe housing insecurity;
and

“Whereas the number of families with children experiencing unsheltered homelessness in Oregon
is 14 times higher than the national average and nearly three times higher than the next highest
state; and

“Whereas current varied methodologies for calculating and defining homelessness can lead to
undercounting and can present barriers to families accessing resources; and

“Whereas the population at highest risk of eviction in the United States is families with babies
and toddlers who experience an eviction rate twice as high as adults without children; and

“Whereas homelessness and housing insecurity for families with babies under one year old cre-
ates toxic stress for caregivers and interferes with early relational health affecting the brain growth
of babies; and

“Whereas adversity in the perinatal period leads to long-lasting effects on healthy social, emo-
tional and cognitive development, increasing the likelihood of poor academic performance, worse
health across the life course and homelessness into adulthood; and

“Whereas providing stable housing for families with babies is necessary to maximize babies’
brain development and their future success in learning, emotional regulation and overall health; and

“Whereas further data reporting on the status of Oregon’s rate of unsheltered homelessness
among children is needed to allow the Legislative Assembly to determine the effectiveness of
perinatal housing programs and to determine further actions; and

“Whereas critical investments in keeping parents of infants stably housed is integral to pre-
venting early childhood adverse experiences and to addressing social and structural determinants
of health for Oregon’s most vulnerable population; now, therefore,”.

Delete lines 4 through 10 and insert:

“SECTION 1. Section 2 of this 2025 Act is added to and made a part of ORS 105.100 to
105.168.

“SECTION 2. (1) As used in this section, ‘health-related social needs housing supports’
means housing supports approved for the demonstration project under 42 U.S.C. 1315 by the
Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.

“(2) Notwithstanding ORS 105.137 (6), a court shall schedule or reset a trial date for a

claim for possession based on nonpayment, as defined in ORS 90.395, if before the date set
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for trial the plaintiff and court receive documentation sufficient to the court to demonstrate
that a named defendant or party to the rental agreement:

“(a) Is the parent of a child under 12 months of age who is living in the dwelling unit;

“(b) Is a recipient of medical assistance, as defined in ORS 414.025; and

“(c) Was approved by the Oregon Health Authority or a coordinated care organization,
as defined in ORS 414.025, to receive health-related social needs housing supports.

“(@3) A trial date scheduled under this section must be scheduled no earlier than 90 days,
or later than 104 days, following the date of approval specified in the documentation.

“SECTION 3. Section 2 of this 2025 Act is repealed on September 28, 2027.

“SECTION 4. ORS 105.136 is amended to read:

“105.136. (1) The Judicial Department, in consultation with the Housing and Community Services
Department, shall supply and may regularly update the notice required under ORS 90.395 (2) and
105.135 (2)(d). The notice must be in substantially the following form:

3

THIS IS AN IMPORTANT NOTICE OF WHERE TO GET HELP IF YOU ARE FACING PO-
TENTIAL EVICTION FOR NONPAYMENT.

For information in Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese or Chinese, go to the Judicial De-

partment website at

You must comply with deadlines identified in a notice of nonpayment, or you risk losing your

housing.

Rental assistance and support services may be available. Dial 2-1-1 or go to www.211info.org or

contact a local service provider at

If you are the parent of a child under 12 months of age who is living with you, you may
be eligible for rent assistance programs through the Oregon Health Authority or your coor-
dinated care organization. Once you have an approval letter, if you provide a copy of the
letter to the court and your landlord, you may be able to delay an eviction for nonpayment

while the rental assistance payment is pending.

Low-income tenants may be able to receive free or low-cost legal advice by contacting a legal

aid organization. Go to to find an office near you.

The Oregon State Bar provides information about legal assistance programs at

“(2) The Judicial Department shall translate the completed form under subsection (1) of this
section into the Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese and Chinese languages and shall display links
to the English and translated forms prominently on the department’s website.

“(3) Each form on the Judicial Department website under subsection (2) of this section must

include a statement in English, Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese and Chinese indicating that
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the form and translations can be found on the Judicial Department website and providing the web
address where the forms may be found.

“SECTION 5. The amendments to ORS 105.136 by section 4 of this 2025 Act become op-
erative on the date 60 days following the effective date of this 2025 Act.

“SECTION 6. ORS 105.136, as amended by section 4 of this 2025 Act, is amended to read:

“105.136. (1) The Judicial Department, in consultation with the Housing and Community Services
Department, shall supply and may regularly update the notice required under ORS 90.395 (2) and
105.135 (2)(d). The notice must be in substantially the following form:

3

THIS IS AN IMPORTANT NOTICE OF WHERE TO GET HELP IF YOU ARE FACING PO-
TENTIAL EVICTION FOR NONPAYMENT.

For information in Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese or Chinese, go to the Judicial De-

partment website at

You must comply with deadlines identified in a notice of nonpayment, or you risk losing your

housing.

Rental assistance and support services may be available. Dial 2-1-1 or go to www.211info.org or

contact a local service provider at

[If you are the parent of a child under 12 months of age who is living with you, you may be eligible
for rent assistance programs through the Oregon Health Authority or your coordinated care organiza-
tion. Once you have an approval letter, if you provide a copy of the letter to the court and your land-
lord, you may be able to delay an eviction for nonpayment while the rental assistance payment is

pending.]

Low-income tenants may be able to receive free or low-cost legal advice by contacting a legal

aid organization. Go to to find an office near you.

The Oregon State Bar provides information about legal assistance programs at

“(2) The Judicial Department shall translate the completed form under subsection (1) of this
section into the Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese and Chinese languages and shall display links
to the English and translated forms prominently on the department’s website.

“3) Each form on the Judicial Department website under subsection (2) of this section must
include a statement in English, Spanish, Korean, Russian, Vietnamese and Chinese indicating that
the form and translations can be found on the Judicial Department website and providing the web
address where the forms may be found.

“SECTION 7. The amendments to ORS 105.136 by section 6 of this 2025 Act become op-
erative on September 28, 2027.

“SECTION 8. Section 9 of this 2025 Act is added to and made a part of ORS 456.548 to
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1 456.725.

2 “SECTION 9. (1) The Housing and Community Services Department shall prioritize,
3 whenever possible in the department’s discretion, families with children under 12 months of
4 age, in adopting rules or policies to implement or administer programs that serve to promote
5 housing stabilization for people experiencing homelessness or who are at risk of becoming
6 homeless.

7 “(2) On or before September 15 of each year, the department shall submit a report in the
8 manner provided by ORS 192.245 to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly re-
9 lated to housing on the rate of unsheltered homelessness among children in this state.

10 “SECTION 10. This 2025 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public
11  peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2025 Act takes effect
12  on its passage.”.

13
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