83rd OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2025 Regular Session

Enrolled Senate Bill 49

Printed pursuant to Senate Interim Rule 213.28 by order of the President of the Senate in conformance with presession filing rules, indicating neither advocacy nor opposition on the part of the President (at the request of Senate Interim Committee on Housing and Development)

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to housing; amending ORS 455.132.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 455.132 is amended to read:

455.132. (1) There is established in the Department of Consumer and Business Services a Building Codes Structures Board consisting of [nine] 11 members.

(2) The Building Codes Structures Board shall assist the Director of the Department of Consumer and Business Services in administering the structural, prefabricated structures and energy programs described in this chapter and the accessibility to persons with physical disabilities program described in ORS 447.210 to 447.280.

(3) The board shall consist of members broadly representative of the industries and professions involved in the development and construction of buildings and energy conservation, including:

(a) An architect [or engineer];

(b) A general contractor, as defined in ORS 701.005, specializing in the construction of buildings more than three stories above grade;

(c) A contractor specializing in construction for heavy industry;

(d) A representative of the building trade;

(e) A representative of a utility or energy supplier;

(f) A representative of a fire protection agency;

(g) A building official;

(h) An owner or manager of a commercial office building; [and]

(i) A representative selected from individuals recommended by the Oregon Disabilities Commission[.];

(j) A fire protection engineer; and

(k) A structural engineer, certified or registered under ORS 672.107, specializing in the design of residential buildings more than three stories above grade.

Passed by Senate April 14, 2025	Received by Governor:
Obadiah Rutledge, Secretary of Senate	Approved:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	
Passed by House May 8, 2025	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House	

Tobias Read, Secretary of State