Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 36

Sponsored by Representatives CHAICHI, TRAN, NGUYEN H, GRAYBER, NELSON, SANCHEZ, Senators FREDERICK, JAMA, MANNING JR; Representatives BOWMAN, EVANS, FRAGALA, GAMBA, GOMBERG, MANNIX, PHAM H, Senators GELSER BLOUIN, GORSEK, PATTERSON, REYNOLDS

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was born in Trinidad and Tobago to Alexander and Ann Chin, the fifth of their six children; and

Whereas the Chin family had immigrated to Trinidad and Tobago from China and, in 1966, they were able to move to New York City when the Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965 increased the number of immigrants allowed into the United States from certain countries, including those in the Caribbean region; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was one of the first generation of her family born outside China, and she became a naturalized citizen of the United States; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan grew up in Flushing, Queens, New York City, but she moved to Oregon in the late 1970s and called it home for the rest of her life; and

Whereas in 1988, Christine Chin Ryan founded Synergy Consulting, Inc., in Portland, Oregon, and she served as its president for nearly four decades; and

Whereas in 1996, Synergy received the Administrator's Award for Excellence from the United States Small Business Administration; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan cofounded and served as executive director of the Asian Pacific Islander Community Coalition of Oregon (APICCO), which gives Asian Pacific Islander students the opportunity to learn about and work in political advocacy; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan empowered 25 youth leaders to participate in APICCO's internship development program, some of whom went on to serve their communities in the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan served as chair of the Portland Police Bureau's Asian Pacific Islander American Advisory Council; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan served as vice-chair of the board of directors of the Philippine American Chamber of Commerce of Oregon; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was the first Chinese American and the second Asian Pacific Islander to serve on the National Organization for Women (NOW) National Board of Directors, as well as the first woman of color and Asian Pacific Islander to serve as president of Oregon's chapter of NOW; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was a guest speaker for facilitated events on anti-Asian hate crimes and incidents following the Atlanta, Georgia, spa murders on March 16, 2021; and

Whereas in 2017, Christine Chin Ryan was presented with the Asian Reporter Foundation's prestigious Most Honored Elder Award; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was awarded the 2024 Chinese American Citizens Alliance Portland Lodge Citizen's Award; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan was unwavering in using her voice to support small businesses, women, racial justice and anti-hate actions; and

Whereas for more than three decades, Christine Chin Ryan was a relentless and passionate advocate for legislative action to positively impact communities of color in Oregon and around the nation; and Whereas Christine Chin Ryan passed away on March 30, 2025, and the void left by her passing is immeasurable; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan will continue to inspire generations to come with her legacy of advocacy and community investment; and

Whereas Christine Chin Ryan will be forever remembered as a dedicated mentor, activist and leader who touched countless lives; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly, honor and celebrate the remarkable life and achievements of Christine Chin Ryan, and we express our sincere and abiding gratitude for her lifelong service to democracy and to the people of the State of Oregon; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to the friends and loved ones of Christine Chin Ryan as an expression of our condolences and gratitude.

Adopted by House May 22, 2025

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Julie Fahey, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate June 11, 2025

Rob Wagner, President of Senate