Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 18

Sponsored by Representatives LIVELY, ANDERSEN; Representatives GAMBA, MARSH, NATHANSON, RUIZ, WALLAN, Senators MANNING JR, STARR

Whereas the League of Oregon Cities was founded in 1925 by 25 Oregon cities with the mission of providing support, advocacy and resources to all incorporated cities in Oregon; and

Whereas for a century, the League of Oregon Cities has played a pivotal role in advancing municipal governance, promoting best practices and fostering collaboration among cities, thereby enhancing the quality of life of Oregonians throughout this state; and

Whereas through initiatives including legislative advocacy, professional development and the delivery of essential services and resources, the League of Oregon Cities has empowered local governments to effectively address the ever-evolving needs of their communities; and

Whereas throughout its 100 years of existence, the League of Oregon Cities has lobbied tirelessly in advancement of issues that are vital to all cities in Oregon, including sustainable development, infrastructure improvement, public safety, equity in local governance and the preservation of home rule authority; and

Whereas Oregon's 241 cities are home to approximately 3 million residents, accounting for 70 percent of the state's total population; and

Whereas these cities serve as the economic, cultural and social hubs of the state, providing essential infrastructure services and opportunities for the majority of Oregonians; and

Whereas continued investment in city infrastructure, including water systems, roads and housing, is critical to supporting the needs of this substantial population and driving statewide economic growth; and

Whereas in the 1930s, the League of Oregon Cities began advocating for the creation of the statewide retirement plan that would come to be known as the Public Employees Retirement System (PERS); and

Whereas for decades, the League of Oregon Cities has prevailed in its efforts to preserve public lands as a free resource for recreational use by the public; and

Whereas in 2014, the League of Oregon Cities was a partner in creating the Regional Solutions Program, a resource for community and economic development that provides collaborative governance, regional coordination and creative problem-solving to communities throughout this state; and

Whereas in 2017, the League of Oregon Cities prevailed in its advocacy for House Bill 2017, which provided a critical funding increase for local government investments and state projects in key transportation corridors and which is, to date, the largest multimodal transportation infrastructure package in state history; and

Whereas the League of Oregon Cities also contributed to the creation of the Small City Allotment Program in 2017, which provides an annual allocation of state funds for local transportation projects for incorporated cities with populations of 5,000 or less; and

Whereas in 2023, the League of Oregon Cities saw major legislative successes as it worked with partners to jointly address affordable housing and the housing shortage in Oregon; and

Whereas also in 2023, in response to the addiction and public safety crisis ravaging communities throughout Oregon, the League of Oregon Cities joined with partners in law enforcement to form the Public Safety Coalition, creating a comprehensive reform package for Oregon's substance abuse policies; and

Whereas across a century of steadfast advocacy, the League of Oregon Cities has made incomparable contributions to the resilience and vitality of communities throughout this state and improved the lives of all Oregonians; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly, recognize and honor the League of Oregon Cities on the 100th anniversary of its founding, and we celebrate its significant contributions to the State of Oregon and encourage continued collaboration in advancing the interests and well-being of all Oregonians.

Adopted by House March 24, 2025

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Julie Fahey, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate May 5, 2025

Rob Wagner, President of Senate