Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 12

Sponsored by Representatives OWENS, LEVY B, SCHARF, BOSHART DAVIS, Senators MCLANE, NASH; Senators LIEBER, PATTERSON

Whereas in February 1926, recognizing the power of collaboration, more than 200 wheat growers, grain handlers, grain millers and marketers gathered in Moro, Oregon, to share research and information about seed sourcing, marketing and grain transportation; and

Whereas the result of that meeting was the Eastern Oregon Wheat League, established in 1926, the first wheat commodity organization in the United States; and

Whereas in 1948, the league changed its name to the Oregon Wheat Growers League; and

Whereas wheat is a crucial piece of Oregon's diverse and productive agricultural sector; and

Whereas wheat is grown in all corners of Oregon, contributing to the health and economic well-being of the entire state; and

Whereas wheat produced by Oregon farmers consistently remains one of the most valuable Oregon agricultural commodities; and

Whereas Oregon wheat is widely respected in major markets around the world for its superior quality; and

Whereas exports of Oregon wheat result in annual direct and indirect economic output of nearly \$1 billion; and

Whereas Oregon wheat is a significant component of the state's international trade, and many nations send wheat trade delegations to Oregon on a regular basis, enhancing the state's international stature; and

Whereas wheat is a whole grain that provides numerous health benefits and is an excellent source of fiber, vitamins, minerals and antioxidants; and

Whereas Oregon wheat feeds the world through domestic consumption, local and international aid donations and exports; and

Whereas 2026 will mark the 100th anniversary of the Oregon Wheat Growers League; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly, designate February 11, 2026, as Oregon Wheat Day; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to the Oregon Wheat Growers League.

Adopted by House March 4, 2025
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House Adopted by Senate April 14, 2025
Rob Wagner, President of Senate