Enrolled House Bill 3794

Sponsored by Representative MCDONALD, Senators GELSER BLOUIN, PATTERSON; Representatives ANDERSEN, CHAICHI, DIEHL, EVANS, GOMBERG, HELM, WRIGHT, Senators JAMA, REYNOLDS

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to municipal solid waste; and prescribing an effective date.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

<u>SECTION 1.</u> (1) The Task Force on Municipal Solid Waste in the Willamette Valley is established.

(2) The task force consists of 12 members appointed as follows:

(a) The President of the Senate shall appoint two nonvoting members from among members of the Senate, including one member from the majority party and one member from the minority party.

(b) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint two nonvoting members from among members of the House of Representatives, including one member from the majority party and one member from the minority party.

(c) The Governor shall appoint eight members as follows:

(A) One member to represent the Governor;

(B) One member to represent a private hauler of solid waste that operates a landfill in the Willamette Valley;

(C) One member to represent the League of Oregon Cities;

(D) One member to represent the Association of Oregon Counties;

(E) Two members to represent environmental organizations; and

(F) Two members with subject matter expertise in the disposal of municipal solid waste.

- (3) The task force shall:
- (a) Study and identify solutions for solid waste disposal in the Willamette Valley; and

(b) Review the findings and recommendations of the Regional Sustainable Materials Management Plan Task Force convened by Benton County.

(4) The Task Force on Municipal Solid Waste in the Willamette Valley may adopt the findings or recommendations of the Regional Sustainable Materials Management Plan Task Force.

(5) A majority of the voting members of the Task Force on Municipal Solid Waste in the Willamette Valley constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.

(6) Official action by the task force requires the approval of a majority of the voting members of the task force.

(7) The Governor shall select one member of the task force to serve as chairperson and another to serve as vice chairperson, for the terms and with the duties and powers necessary for the performance of the functions of the offices as the Governor determines.

(8) If there is a vacancy for any cause, the appointing authority shall make an appointment to become immediately effective.

(9) The task force shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the members of the task force.

(10) The task force may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the task force.

(11) The task force shall submit a report in the manner provided by ORS 192.245, and may include recommendations for legislation, to the interim committees of the Legislative Assembly related to the environment no later than December 15, 2026.

(12) The Legislative Policy and Research Director shall provide staff support to the task force.

(13) Members of the Legislative Assembly appointed to the task force are nonvoting members of the task force and may act in an advisory capacity only.

(14) Members of the task force who are not members of the Legislative Assembly serve as volunteers on the task force and, unless they are qualified members, as defined in ORS 292.495, are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement for expenses.

(15) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, are directed to assist the task force in the performance of the duties of the task force and, to the extent permitted by laws relating to confidentiality, to furnish information and advice the members of the task force consider necessary to perform their duties.

(16) All appointments to the task force made under subsection (2) of this section must be completed no later than 60 days after the effective date of this 2025 Act.

(17) The task force shall have its first meeting no later than 90 days after the effective date of this 2025 Act.

SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2025 Act is repealed on December 31, 2026.

<u>SECTION 3.</u> This 2025 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2025 regular session of the Eighty-third Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.

Passed by House June 25, 2025	Received by Governor:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate June 27, 2025	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	, 2025
	Tobias Read, Secretary of State

Enrolled House Bill 3794 (HB 3794-INTRO)