Enrolled

House Bill 3643

Sponsored by Representatives ELMER, BOICE, EDWARDS, GRAYBER, LEVY B, Senator FREDERICK; Representatives ANDERSEN, BOSHART DAVIS, BOWMAN, CHAICHI, FRAGALA, GAMBA, HARTMAN, LEVY E, MANNIX, MCDONALD, NGUYEN H, PHAM H, RESCHKE, SCHARF, WRIGHT, Senators GIROD, JAMA, LIEBER, MANNING JR, MEEK, NERON, PATTERSON, REYNOLDS, SMITH DB, SOLLMAN, STARR, THATCHER, WAGNER

CHAPTER

AN ACT

Relating to Oregon Youth Suicide Awareness Day; and declaring an emergency.

Whereas the topic of youth suicide does not receive the elevation and attention it deserves; and Whereas youth suicide has impacted far too many communities and families throughout our beautiful state; and

Whereas the warning signs of youth suicide often go unnoticed or unrecognized; and

Whereas shame, stigma and a lack of knowledge are barriers to seeking professional mental health support; and

Whereas 20 percent of all high school students have reported having serious thoughts about suicide; and

Whereas in Oregon, 38 percent of high school juniors reported feeling so sad or hopeless they stopped normal activities; and

Whereas 109 Oregon youths died by suicide in 2022; and

Whereas in 2022, Oregon had the 12th highest youth suicide rate in the nation; and

Whereas according to Mental Health America, Oregon ranks last in the nation in balancing the prevalence of youth mental illness with access to care; and

Whereas suicide remains the second leading cause of death in the nation among people aged 5 to 24; and

Whereas Oregon must remain dedicated to ending the prevalence of youth suicide; and

Whereas the young lives we have lost to suicide live on in our hearts and memories; now, therefore,

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. October 9 of each year is designated as Oregon Youth Suicide Awareness Day.

SECTION 2. This 2025 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2025 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House April 9, 2025	Received by Governor:
	, 2025
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2025
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate June 4, 2025	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	, 2025
	Tobias Read, Secretary of State