Enrolled House Bill 2069

Sponsored by Representative SANCHEZ; Representatives HARTMAN, NELSON (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER	
CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to tribal consultation; and declaring an emergency.

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. (1) The Task Force on Tribal Consultation 2025 is established.

- (2) The task force consists of 17 members appointed as follows:
- (a) The President of the Senate shall appoint one member from among members of the
- (b) The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint one member from among members of the House of Representatives.
- (c) The President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives shall jointly appoint one member who is a member of the Commission on Indian Services.
 - (d) The Governor shall appoint:
 - (A) One member who is a representative of the office of the Governor;
- (B) One member from each of the nine federally recognized Indian tribes in this state; and
- (C) Four members, each of whom is a representative of a state agency that is required to engage in tribal consultation.
- (3) In appointing members to the task force under subsection (2) of this section, the appointing authority shall, where feasible, appoint individuals who served as members of the Task Force on Tribal Consultation described in section 1, chapter 531, Oregon Laws 2023.
- (4) The task force shall identify and clarify the requirements of state agencies to engage in tribal consultation. In carrying out the duties described in this subsection, the task force shall strive to continue any work of the Task Force on Tribal Consultation described in section 1, chapter 531, Oregon Laws 2023.
- (5) A majority of the voting members of the task force constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.
- (6) Official action by the task force requires the approval of a majority of the voting members of the task force.
 - (7) The task force shall elect one of its members to serve as chairperson.
- (8) If there is a vacancy for any cause, the appointing authority shall make an appointment to become immediately effective.
- (9) The task force shall meet at times and places specified by the call of the chairperson or of a majority of the voting members of the task force.
 - (10) The task force may adopt rules necessary for the operation of the task force.

- (11) The task force shall submit a report in the manner provided by ORS 192.245, and may include recommendations for legislation, to an interim committee of the Legislative Assembly related to government no later than September 15, 2026.
 - (12) The office of the Governor shall provide staff support to the task force.
- (13) Members of the Legislative Assembly appointed to the task force are nonvoting members of the task force and may act in an advisory capacity only.
- (14) Members of the task force who are not members of the Legislative Assembly are not entitled to compensation or reimbursement for expenses and serve as volunteers on the task force.
- (15) All agencies of state government, as defined in ORS 174.111, are directed to assist the task force in the performance of the duties of the task force and, to the extent permitted by laws relating to confidentiality, to furnish information and advice the members of the task force consider necessary to perform their duties.

SECTION 2. Section 1 of this 2025 Act is repealed on December 31, 2026.

SECTION 3. There is appropriated to the office of the Governor, for the biennium beginning July 1, 2025, out of the General Fund, the amount of \$70,000 for the purpose of carrying out the provisions of section 1 of this 2025 Act.

SECTION 4. This 2025 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2025 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House June 12, 2025	Received by Governor:
	, 2025
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2025
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate June 19, 2025	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	, 2025
	Tobias Read, Secretary of State