Enrolled House Bill 2019

Sponsored by Representatives ELMER, NOSSE, OSBORNE, YUNKER; Representatives BOICE, BOSHART DAVIS, DRAZAN, EDWARDS, HARTMAN, LEVY B, NELSON, NERON, RESCHKE, SCHARF, WRIGHT, Senators GOLDEN, MANNING JR, PATTERSON, SMITH DB, STARR (Presession filed.)

CHAPTER	

AN ACT

Relating to Oregon Adoption Day; and declaring an emergency.

Whereas every child deserves a happy childhood and a permanent, nurturing and loving family; and

Whereas every day, families are strengthened and expanded when committed and dedicated individuals make an important difference in the life of a child through adoption; and

Whereas nearly a quarter of individuals in the United States have considered adoption, but many individuals have misperceptions about the process of adopting children; and

Whereas it is essential that national, state and local governments strive to make it easier for more children to find safe and caring homes and to ensure that adoptive families have the support they need; and

Whereas National Adoption Day currently raises awareness of children in foster care, but it is equally important that we celebrate individuals of all ages who are adoptees and honor all families that have been built through adoption; and

Whereas an annual statewide day of celebration in Oregon will recognize the bonds of love shared by adoptive families across this state and celebrate the thousands of adoptive families who have opened their hearts to provide safe and caring homes; and

Whereas bringing awareness to adoption through an annual statewide day of celebration will encourage more Oregonians to consider growing their families through adoption; now, therefore,

Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. August 25 of each year is designated as Oregon Adoption Day.

SECTION 2. This 2025 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2025 Act takes effect on its passage.

Passed by House April 8, 2025	Received by Governor:
	, 2025
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
	, 2025
Julie Fahey, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate May 13, 2025	Tina Kotek, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Rob Wagner, President of Senate	, 2025
	Tobias Read, Secretary of State