
 

State Capitol Building 
900 Court St NE  
Salem, Oregon 97301-1347 
                       1 of 10 
 

Phone (503) 986-1266 
                       https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lro 

 

REVENUE IMPACT OF 
PROPOSED LEGISLATION 
83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly 
2025 Regular Session  
Legislative Revenue Office  

 
Bill Number:     
Revenue Area:  
Economist:        
Date:                  

 
HB 2025 - A 
Transportation  
Mazen Malik & J. Hart 
06-21-2025 

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed 
 Versions are Considered Official 

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 

 

Measure Description:  
Makes various changes to transportation related taxes and fees described in detail below 

 
Revenue Impact ($Millions):  
 

The bill increases and changes various taxes and fees. Summary impacts are in the table below.  

 

Net New Revenue in $ Millions

2025-27 2027-29 2029-31 2031-33 2033-35

FUELS (Gas& Use) L/M $241.3 $420.1 $447.0 $436.4 $429.5

Diesel Tax (Hybrid System) H $0.0 $143.7 $381.7 $379.7 $378.1

Vehicle Reg L $275.8 $393.4 $398.5 $399.0 $403.9

Titles L $87.3 $132.4 $128.1 $121.1 $116.2

Motor Vehicle Tax (1% used)(2% new) Light L $129.3 $544.3 $562.8 $543.9 $565.5

RUC Net Revenue (-ODOT CC) L ($15.0) ($3.2) $120.3 $208.5 $289.5

RUC commercial Light L $0.1 $0.3 $0.4 $0.5 $0.5

Use Tax (Prvlg=) (0.5%) L $13.0 $23.0 $25.2 $26.9 $29.0

Indexing the Gas Tax L/M $0.0 $9.2 $66.9 $139.5 $219.0

Indexing the Diesel Tax H $0.0 $1.9 $15.4 $33.1 $52.6

DMV Cost Recovery Fees L $68.1 $92.7 $100.0 $97.1 $95.9

CCD Cost Recovery Fees H $2.1 $2.3 $2.3 $2.3 $2.3

Motor Vehicle Tax (1% used, 2% new) (M-H) H $17.3 $36.5 $37.7 $36.4 $37.9

RUC commercial /Med-Hvy M/H $0.4 $1.2 $1.8 $2.5 $2.7

Heavy (WM & FF & RUAF) H $0.0 $130.7 $267.5 $275.8 $282.8

Total Highway Fund $819.8 $1,928.4 $2,555.6 $2,702.7 $2,905.4

Fuel Tranfers to Non-Highway Uses $11.8 $22.2 $25.5 $26.2 $26.1

Snowmobile Fund $0.2 $0.2 $0.2 $0.2 $0.2

DMV Business Regulation $1.8 $2.4 $2.6 $2.4 $2.5

Abandoned Recreational Vehicle Account $3.9 $5.3 $5.5 $5.7 $6.3

Parks (ODOP) $17.2 $24.0 $26.7 $29.9 $30.9

Payroll Tax (STIF) $157.3 $424.0 $681.4 $822.7 $896.4

Vehicle Privilege Tax (0.5%) Railroad Fund $46.5 $82.2 $92.7 $98.7 $106.3

Grand Total  for HB 2025 $1,058.4 $2,488.7 $3,390.2 $3,688.6 $3,974.1
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The new revenue is distributed as shown in the following tables. 

 

 
 

Distribution of Revenue  $ Million

2025-27 2027-29 2029-31 2031-33 2033-35

Total Highway Fund Net New Revenue $819.8 $1,928.4 $2,555.6 $2,702.7 $2,905.4

OFF THE TOP DEDICATION

Anchor Projects $125.0 $250.0 $250.0 $250.0 $250.0

Great Streets Fund $0.0 $250.0 $250.0 $250.0 $250.0

Safe Routs to Schools $0.0 $50.0 $50.0 $50.0 $50.0

Wild Life Collision $0.0 $10.0 $10.0 $10.0 $10.0

Subtotal Programs $125.0 $560.0 $560.0 $560.0 $560.0

New distributions percentages

State 50.0% $313.0 $626.0 $872.8 $902.5 $962.7

Counties 28.6% $181.2 $358.5 $499.8 $516.7 $551.3

Counties (Small) 1.4% $6.6 $17.2 $23.9 $24.7 $26.4

Cities 20.0% $125.2 $250.4 $349.1 $361.0 $385.1

Other (existing law % ) Distributions

State $41.5 $67.7 $135.3 $178.9 $219.8

Counties $16.7 $29.5 $69.2 $95.8 $120.5

Counties (Small) $0.0 $0.0 $0.0 $0.0 $0.0

Cities $10.6 $19.1 $45.5 $63.2 $79.6

Total City/ County/ State Highway Fund Distributions

State $354.4 $693.7 $1,008.1 $1,081.4 $1,182.6

Counties $197.9 $388.0 $569.0 $612.5 $671.7

Counties (Small) $6.6 $17.2 $23.9 $24.7 $26.4

Cities $135.8 $269.5 $394.6 $424.1 $464.7

Subtotal Highway Fund Distributions $694.8 $1,368.4 $1,995.6 $2,142.7 $2,345.4

Total All Highway Fund Distributions $819.8 $1,928.4 $2,555.6 $2,702.7 $2,905.4

Non Higway Funds 2025-27 2027-29 2029-31 2031-33 2033-35

Fuel Tranfers to Non-Highway $11.8 $22.2 $25.5 $26.2 $26.1

Snowmobile Fund $0.2 $0.2 $0.2 $0.2 $0.2

DMV Business Regulation $1.8 $2.4 $2.6 $2.4 $2.5

Abandoned Recreational Vehicle Account $3.9 $5.3 $5.5 $5.7 $6.3

Parks (ODOP) $17.2 $24.0 $26.7 $29.9 $30.9

Payroll Tax (STIF) $157.3 $424.0 $681.4 $822.7 $896.4

Vehicle Privilege Tax (0.5%) Railroad Fund $46.5 $82.2 $92.7 $98.7 $106.3

Grand Total Funds Distributed $1,058.4 $2,488.7 $3,390.2 $3,688.6 $3,974.1
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Impact Explanation:  
 

Fuel Taxes: Increases per-gallon state motor vehicle fuel tax and use-fuel tax to 50 cents beginning 
January 1, 2026, and to 55 cents on January 1, 2028. The measure imposes a new tax on Diesel Fuel, by 
modifying the definition of diesel fuel used by heavy vehicles to be treated and taxed in a comparable 
fashion to the motor vehicle fuel tax paid by light vehicles. This approach is known as a hybrid system of 
taxation for heavy vehicles, where Weight Mile taxes are augmented by a Diesel tax that is equivalent in 
rate, point of taxation, and collection to the fuel tax. Consequently, the new Diesel Tax is paid mostly by 
heavy and medium-heavy vehicles. 
 
Indexing of fuel taxes: For all the types of taxed fuel (new and existing), the measure indexes the per-
gallon tax rate to inflation, beginning January 1, 2029. The annual adjustment uses the change in the 
consumer price index from the prior year compared with two years prior. Each year the new rate is 
bounded between 100 percent and 104 percent of the prior year’s rate. Applying the CPI-West forecast, 
indexing starts by effectively increasing the fuel tax rate by 1.1 cents in 2029, reaching an additional 1.4 
cents by 2034. Revenue resulting from indexing gasoline, use-fuel, and the new diesel fuel tax are shown 
in separate lines in the revenue table. 
 
Increases in the tax rate due to inflation are shown in the table below and applies to gasoline, use-fuel, 
and the new diesel fuel tax. 
 

 
 
Vehicle Registration Fees: The measure also increases annual fees on registration of passenger vehicles 
by $50, however, it does that first by adding a change in the amount of the base-fee by $20. This revenue 
neutral change is accomplished by removing the first layer of the MPG surcharge (0-20 MPG) and an 
equivalent amount ($20) form the other MPG tiers surcharges that were established in HB 2017 (2017 
Session). After that rearrangement of registration fees and adding the $50 increase, the net increase 
reflected in (section 62) of the measure shows vehicle registration fees going from $43 to $113. 
Surcharge Fees of HB 2017 are adjusted accordingly, and the EV (tier) surcharge is reduced to $95 
(section 140) before it is repealed in 2031. For mopeds and motorcycles, the measure also increases the 
registration fees (from $44 to $110), low-speed vehicles, light trailers, and medium-speed electric 
vehicles ($63 to $129). 
 
Title fees: The measure removes and averages the MPG tiers (established in HB 2017. Effectively leaving 
the current title fees averaging $112. Although the package net increase for title fees is $70, the 
readjustment of title fees with adjustments of MPG tiers ends up showing as an Increase in title fees 
from $77 to $182 (in section 63).  
 

Tax Changes 1/1/2029 1/1/2030 1/1/2031 1/1/2032 1/1/2033 1/1/2034

Indexing Fuel Tax (new cents) $0.011 $0.011 $0.012 $0.014 $0.014 $0.014



 

State Capitol Building 
900 Court St NE  
Salem, Oregon 97301-1347 
                       4 of 10 
 

Phone (503) 986-1266 
                       https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lro 

 

Vehicle Transfer Tax (VTT): The measure imposes a new tax on the transfer of ownership of both new 
and used vehicles.  Vehicles subject to the tax are all vehicles with gross vehicle weight of 26,000 pounds 
or less sold for a transfer sales price greater than $10,000. The tax is levied at two percent of sales price 
for new vehicles or one percent of sales price for used vehicles. The measure specifies (sections 81-86) 
that the tax is the liability of the purchaser, who is considered the taxpayer. It also creates commensurate 
transfer use tax for transactions occurring outside Oregon, to be paid upon Oregon registration of the 
vehicle. The VTT is considered a highway fund source of revenue that is governed by the constitutional 
restrictions of the highway fund. The amounts or revenue shown in the revenue table above are net of 
2.25% DMV collection costs. The amounts of revenue for the vehicles below 10,000 lb. are considered a 
light vehicle payment, while the amounts generated from vehicles between 10,000 and 26,000lb. are 
considered medium-heavy contributions. Both taxes are shown as a sperate source in the revenue table. 
 
Road User Charge (RUC): The measure begins the transition to the per-mile Road Usage Charge (starting 
in section 132) by adding vehicle classes that must use the program currently known as OReGO. The 
voluntary program will be repealed in 2037 as the mandatory RUC program takes full effect. The 
mandatory RUC program is implemented on an expedited transitional fashion. It starts with requiring 
EVs that are renewing their registration with DMV to be enrolled in the RUC program on 7/1/26. New 
EV’s will start enrolling on 1/1/27, then Hybrids and PHEV on 7/1/27. Although DMV will reduce 
registration fees for electric and fuel-efficient vehicles when they enroll with the RUC (section 140), they 
can also choose an annual flat fee payment of $340, which will adjust with the indexing of the fuel tax. 
The RUC program, however, is likely to be administered by a private contractors known as Account 
Managers (AM).  The AM expenses reduce the net revenue transferred to ODOT and are limited by the 
measure. The allowed expense for the AM is specified to not exceed 10% of the revenue collected 
starting in FY30. Prior to that, this analysis assumes costs to start at 28% and go down to 17% in FY 29. 
This does not include ODOT’s administrative expenses that are estimated at $8 million a biennium 
growing by 1% per year. The road user charge for miles driven in Oregon for passenger vehicles is set at 
5 percent the rate of the per-gallon fuel tax in effect at the time of the fee assessment. Vehicles enrolled 
in RUC are not subject to the enhanced portion of registration fees intended to increase charges for 
vehicles that paid less in gasoline tax (as designed in HB 2017). By the end of 2030, all electric vehicles 
would be enrolled in the RUC program, thus the enhanced registration fee for EV’s will no longer be 
necessary, and it will be repealed on 1/1/2031.  
 
A separate RUC program charge for commercial vehicles is set at 10 percent of the fuel tax rate for 
electric delivery vehicles and vehicles between 10,000-26,000lb. Because the fuel tax is adjusted for 
inflation, the road usage charge adjusts accordingly. The measure requires enrollment of commercial 
delivery vehicles in July 2028. While delivery vehicles with GVW less than 10,000 lb. are counted as light 
payments, delivery vehicle payments of medium-heavy vehicles (10,000-26,000) are counted against 
that vehicle class cost responsibility. Both revenue sources are shown on separate lines in the revenue 
table. Revenue from the RUC program is distributed according to an existing current law formula of 50-
30-20, and not subject to the dedicated or off-the-top distributions established in sections 110-114 of 
the measure. 
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The RUC program estimates are subject to several risks, including the ability of the AM to keep collection 
costs under the assumed limits, particularly if they must distinguish and charge payments for miles 
driven in Oregon only. Another risk would be the ability of the program to meticulously launch under the 
expedited timeline. Additionally, finding a suitable AM to administer the program might prove 
challenging.  
 
Cost Recovery Fees: The measure increases several DMV and CCD fees to capture the amounts needed 
for full cost recovery for these transactions. Increasing fees for activities like new or replacement 
registration plates, licenses, stickers, permits, endorsements, knowledge and skills tests, dismantler 
certificates, and trip permits, practically frees revenue that otherwise would have been covered and 
subsidized by other Highway Fund revenue. This results in an increased stream of revenue available for 
distributions between the state and local governments. Albeit these distributions are governed by the 
older split of 60% to the state and 40% to local governments. The Highway Fund sources of revenue 
generated by these transactions comprise about $50 million in an average year. The revenue is also 
classified into both Heavy and light categories. 
 
These increased transaction fees for the Highway fund are shown in the table below. 
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Heavy vehicle Payments: The heavy payment category is customarily dominated by the Weight-Mile 
(W-M) tax, Flat Fee (FF) payments, and the Road Use Assessment Fees (RUAF). This measure delays any 
increase in these taxes and fees until July-2028 (FY-29). At that time, the measure introduces two main 
reforms to the heavy vehicle taxation system.  

1) First, is the introduction of a diesel tax discussed above in addition to the W-M tax to create a 
hybrid system for payments. Currently heavy vehicles (above 26,000 lb.) generate 2.4 billion VMT 
in an average year, which would translate to $140 million in revenue (considering current fuel 
tax rate and MPG). In theory, diesel tax payments increase for heavier trucks as they consume 
more fuel, however, this increase is not commensurate with the damage imposed on the roads 
by the heavier weight vehicles. Thus, the W-M segment of the hybrid system (if calibrated 
correctly) is supposed to shoulder that damage difference. This hybrid system needs to be 

Category Current Rate

Proposed Rate 

Jan 1, 2026

Salvage Titles 27.00$                44.00$               

Salvage Title - New from Dealer 27.00$                44.00$               

Salvage Title - New to Oregon 27.00$                44.00$               

Heavy Trailer Trip Permit 10.00$                 25.00$                 

Registration Weight Trip Permit 5.00$                  25.00$               

Registered Vehicle Tip Permit 7.50$                  25.00$               

Replacement Plate 12.00$                33.00$               

Replacement Plate & Sticker 12.00$                33.00$               

Plate Transfer 30.00$                44.00$               

Original NCL 58.00$                100.00$             

Original Instuction Permit 30.00$                75.00$               

Hardship Driver Permit Application 75.00$                75.00$               

Motorcycle Endorsement Only 60.00$                60.00$               

Motorcycle Endorsement 60.00$                90.00$               

Farm Endorsement Only 26.00$                60.00$               

Farm Endorsement 26.00$                60.00$               

Renewal NCL 48.00$                74.00$               

Renewal Instruction Driver Permit 26.00$                69.00$               

Replacement NCL 30.00$                56.00$               

Replacement Instruction Driver Permit 30.00$                56.00$               

Replacement Motorcycle Instruction Driver Permit 30.00$                56.00$               

NCL Knowledge Exam 7.00$                  10.00$               

NCL Skills Exam 45.00$                50.00$               

CDL Skills Exam 145.00$              200.00$             

Registration - Motorcycle 88.00$                220.00$             

Registration - Moped 88.00$                220.00$             

Registration - Light Trailer 126.00$              258.00$             

Registration - Medium Speed 126.00$              258.00$             

Registration - Low Speed 126.00$              258.00$             

Cab Card (Truck registration card) 3.00$                  15.00$               

Registration Plate (single) 3.00$                  20.00$               

Registration Plate (pair) 6.00$                  25.00$               

Registration Sticker (single) 3.00$                  12.00$               

Registration Sticker (pair) 6.00$                  13.00$               

Trusted Carrier plates -$                    36.00$               

Heavy Truck Transponders -$                    79.00$               

Heavy
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studied and researched more thoroughly to align its effectiveness and character with the 
Highway Cost Allocation Study (HCAS). 

2)  Second, the resulting new weight mile rate tables (after the hybrid system is introduced) were 
simplified to ten gradually increasing rates. The first nine rates increase by 6,000 lb. increments 
from 26,000 lb. to 80,000 lb. These nine rates essentially replace the current (2,000 lb. 
increments) Table-A of the weight mile tax. The tenth increment of the simplified table spans all 
trucks weighing between 80,001 to 105,000lb. This broad single 25,000 lb. weight increment 
essentially replaces all of Table-B of the current W-M tax rates. It is worth noting that the current 
Table-B contains different (adjusting) rates of tax relative to the number of axels that a truck (of 
a certain weight class) uses. Table-B was initially developed to encourage vehicles with heavier 
weights to use more axels which distribute weights on a higher number of axels reducing damage 
to the roads. The new simplified system will likely need more thorough study and research to 
align its effectiveness to the results and research of the Highway Cost Allocation Study (HCAS). 

 
By FY 2029, the measure initiates the diesel tax and starts the changes and increases of the weight mile 
taxes commensurate with the reformed structure (section 2). However, the weight mile tables for FY-29 
abbreviated what otherwise would have required four different rate changes to create an HCAS balance 
in each respective biennium. Hence, the resulting revenue of this measure is not balanced to HCAS 
requirements (as shown in the Tables below). The measure also introduces a table (E) for electric trucks 
(which do not consume diesel) that might come online in the coming years.  
 
The measure maintains the non-divisible load permits RUAF that are in current law until the other heavy 
vehicle taxes and fees come online in FY 29. Flat Fees for commodity haulers were not adjusted in the 
2025-27 biennium (to reflect the results of the Flat Fee study) from current rates. However, the FY 29 
rates for RUAF will go to $24.0 (section 64). Log Haulers will increase to $16.48 for E-vehicles, and $14.80 
for Diesel vehicles, while Sand & Gravel, will increase to $26.64 for E-Vehicles, and $23.95 for Diesel 
vehicles (section 65). Other commodity rates were repealed for the lack of use. 
 
Highway Cost Allocation (HCAS) Implications: The Weight Mile taxes are customarily adjusted to achieve 
the required constitutional biennial balance reflected by the HCAS ratios. However, this measure only 
changes the Weight Mile taxes once (25% at the beginning of FY29) in a fashion that does not achieve 
balance for any of the subsequent five biennia, nor is it balanced for the total sum payments of those 
biennia. 
 
The separate revenue contributions of heavy and light vehicles are shown in the tables below. 
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Prior to this measure, the 25-27 HCAS projected an over payment of $182 million by heavy vehicles. This 
is remedied in this measure by considering the first $565 million payment by light vehicles as an 
offsetting balance. After accounting for that, additional payments by light vehicles in the 25-27 biennium 
results in $82 million underpayment by heavy vehicles. Over the five biennia reflected in this analysis, 
the lack of balance between the vehicle classes is a result of the weight mile taxes being raised only once 
without particularly pursuing to balance each biennium for equity of the cost responsibility shares. The 
effect of the (tax increase) delay until FY29 is most pronounced in the 27-29 biennium, where heavy 
vehicles underpayment reaches a little over $400 million. 
 
Comparison of revenue and relative balance of over and (under) payments for the general broad classes 
of heavy (10,000 lb. and above) and light (below 10,000 lb.) vehicles are shown in the table below. 

Highway Fund Revenue $ Million 2025-27 BN 2027-29 BN 2029-31 BN 2031-33 BN 2033-35 BN

Light Payments

FUELS (Gas& Use) $236.5 $411.5 $436.7 $424.8 $416.6

Vehicle Reg $275.8 $393.4 $398.5 $399.0 $403.9

Titles $87.3 $132.4 $128.1 $121.1 $116.2

MV Transfer Tax & Use (1,2) $129.3 $544.3 $562.8 $543.9 $565.5

Net RUC -ODOT CC ($15.0) ($3.2) $120.3 $208.5 $289.5

RUC commercial Light $0.1 $0.3 $0.4 $0.5 $0.5

Use Tax (Prvlg=) (0.5%) $13.0 $23.0 $25.2 $26.9 $29.0

DMV Cost Recovery $68.1 $92.7 $100.0 $97.1 $95.9

Revenue from Gas Indexing $0.0 $9.2 $66.9 $139.5 $219.0

Total Light $795.0 $1,603.5 $1,838.9 $1,961.4 $2,136.0

percentage Light Payments out of Total Revenue 97.0% 83.2% 72.0% 72.6% 73.5%

Heavy Payments 2025-27 BN 2027-29 BN 2029-31 BN 2031-33 BN 2033-35 BN

FUELS (Gas& Use) heavy $4.8 $8.6 $10.3 $11.5 $13.0

Heavy Cost Recovery $2.1 $2.3 $2.3 $2.3 $2.3

Heavy VTT $17.3 $36.5 $37.7 $36.4 $37.9

RUC commercial Heavy $0.4 $1.2 $1.8 $2.5 $2.7

Diesel Tax $0.0 $143.7 $381.7 $379.7 $378.1

Diesel Tax Indexing $0.0 $1.9 $15.4 $33.1 $52.6

Weight Mile/FF/RUAF $0.0 $130.7 $267.5 $275.8 $282.8

Total Heavy $24.7 $324.9 $716.7 $741.4 $769.3

percentage Heavy Payments out of Total Revenue 3.0% 16.8% 28.0% 27.4% 26.5%

Total Highway Fund (Light and Heavy) $819.8 $1,928.4 $2,555.6 $2,702.7 $2,905.4
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HCAS is predicated upon allocating the revenue raised to specific expenditure categories to achieve 
balanced allocation of payments between vehicle classes. This revenue estimate was based on the 
general expenditure categories offered by ODOT. Those expenditures are assumed to cover ODOT 
budget rebalance in the 2025-27 biennium, while for 2027-29 and the following biennia, ODOT is 
assumed to direct 36% of revenue to Maintenance, 35% to Operation & Admin, 25% to Preservation, 2% 
to Safety, and 2% to a Flexible Reserve. Adding to that mix, the expenditure categories of dedicated (off-
the-top) programs, and local government expenditures, results in light vehicles responsibility (for all light 
payers) of 68.83%, and heavy vehicles (all heavy payers) responsibility of 31.17%. However, the risk to 
the revenue estimate stems from the lack of specificity (in the measure) for those intended expenditure 
categories (of the revenue generated). Accordingly, the assumed expenditure profile can change at any 
one biennium during the coming 10 years, requiring further future adjustments of tax rates.  
 
Highway Fund Distributions:  The measure used three different formulas of distributions for the highway 
fund revenue. Two of these formulas were based on existing (current) law and the third was devised by 
this measure (sections 110-113). The impact section of this RIS (Revenue Impact Statement) shows the 
specific dollar amounts going to all the different uses, however, the table below shows the overall 
distribution for the new revenue generated by the measure. The measure also tasks LRO working with 
ODOT (in section 172) to study and recommend simplification of all the different distributions found in 
the statutes.  
 

 
 
Vehicle Privilege Tax: The measure increases the vehicle privilege tax rate paid by vehicle dealers for the 
privilege of selling vehicles in Oregon from 0.5 percent to one percent of the retail sales price of the sold 
motor vehicles. The increase is mirrored in the vehicle use tax imposed on subject vehicles purchased 

Highway Fund Distributions % 2025-27 2027-29 2029-31 2031-33 2033-35

Dedicated Programs 15.2% 29.0% 21.9% 20.7% 19.3%

State 43.2% 36.0% 39.4% 40.0% 40.7%

Counties 24.9% 21.0% 23.2% 23.6% 24.0%

Cities 16.6% 14.0% 15.4% 15.7% 16.0%

HCAS Balance 2025-27 BN 2027-29 BN 2029-31 BN 2031-33 BN 2033-35 BN

Bring 25-27 HCAS to Balance 

light payments before Heavy is needed (Heavy payments $182) $565.4 $0.0 $0.0 $0.0 $0.0

Light payments needed to be balanced after  (25-27) adjustment $229.7 $1,603.5 $1,838.9 $1,961.4 $2,136.0

Heavy needed after (25-27 Balance) $106.5 $726.8 $833.5 $889.0 $968.2

Other Heavy Revenue (not W/M) $24.7 $194.2 $449.2 $465.6 $486.5

Heavy payment WM &FF &RUAF $0.0 $130.7 $267.5 $275.8 $282.8

Subtotal (needed - payments) ($81.8) ($401.9) ($116.8) ($147.6) ($198.8)

Cost Responsibility Balance 2025-27 BN 2027-29 BN 2029-31 BN 2031-33 BN 2033-35 BN

Total Heavy (under) / over  payments ($81.8) ($401.9) ($116.8) ($147.6) ($198.8)

Total Light (under) / over  payments 
$81.8 $401.9 $116.8 $147.6 $198.8
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outside Oregon that are registered and titled in Oregon. Current net revenue from the 0.5% privilege tax 
is directed to DEQ and Connect Oregon programs. However, the revenue resulting from this measure 
increase in the privilege tax is directed to Railroad Fund and Programs (sections 60a, and 60b). While 
the privilege tax is allowed to be used for program other than Highway, the corollary Use tax is a Highway 
Fund restricted revenue source and is accounted for in the highway fund tables.  
 
Payroll Tax: The measure increases the employee payroll tax from 0.1 percent to 0.18 percent effective 
January 1, 2026; to 0.25 percent effective January 1, 2028, and finally to 0.3 percent effective January 1, 
2030 (section 54). By 2031 the tax raises around $450 million per year. All the resulting net revenue from 
those increases still go to the STIF (Statewide Transportation Improvement Fund). The measure also 
expands the allowable uses of the STIF to include capital projects as well as operation of transit services.  
 
Finally, the measure raises several fees for Recreational Vehicles (RV) and Trailer transactions. The 
revenue from these transactions will go to the Department of State Parks. The measure also creates the 
Abandoned Recreational Vehicle Account (ARVA) and directs revenues from fees to the fund. Those 
fees are indexed to inflation starting in FY 28 until the fund is repealed on January 2, 2036.  
Additionally, some DMV business transaction fees, that are not highway fund transitions, are raised to 
recover their cost of doing business. Revenue from these fees and their uses (distribution) are reflected 
separately in the revenue tables. 
 
RV, Trailer fees, ARVA indexed fees, and the DMV business fees are shown in the table below. 
 

 
 
 

Creates, Extends, or Expands Tax Expenditure: Yes  No  

Category Current Rate

Proposed Rate 

Jan 1, 2026

Proposed 

Rate Jan 1, 

Proposed Rate 

Jan 1, 2030

Proposed Rate 

Jan 1, 2032

Proposed Rate 

Jan 1, 2034

Snomobile Registration 10.00$                30.00$               

Dismantler Business Certificate 500.00$              2,492.00$          

Dismantler Supplemental Location 500.00$              2,492.00$          

Dealer Original Application 1,100.00$          2,044.00$          

Dealer Renewal Application 1,100.00$          2,044.00$          

Dealer Supplemental Location 350.00$              1,053.00$          

Transporter Business Certificate 450.00$              1,294.00$          

Vehicle Appraiser 100.00$              504.00$             

Motor Homes 288.96$              445.01$             460.00$          480.00$          502.00$           522.00$            

Campers 127.51$              196.37$             203.00$          212.00$          222.00$           230.00$            

Travel Trailers 203.02$              312.65$             323.00$          337.00$          353.00$           366.00$            

RV Trip Permits 35.00$                50.00$               52.00$            54.00$             56.00$             59.00$              

ARVA Motor Homes -$                    25.00$               26.00$            27.00$             28.00$             29.00$              

ARVA Campers -$                    25.00$               26.00$            27.00$             28.00$             29.00$              

ARVA Travel Trailers -$                    25.00$               26.00$            27.00$             28.00$             29.00$              

ARVA RV Trip Permits -$                    40.00$               41.00$            43.00$             45.00$             47.00$              

Abandoned Recreational Vehicle Account (ARVA)
Non-Highway
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