SB 1047 B STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Carrier: Sen. Girod

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Action Date:	06/18/25
Action:	Do pass with amendments to the A-Eng bill. (Printed B-Eng.)
Senate Vote	
Yeas:	10 - Anderson, Bonham, Broadman, Campos, Frederick, Girod, Lieber, Manning Jr,
	McLane, Sollman
Exc:	1 - Smith DB
House Vote	
Yeas:	9 - Bowman, Breese-Iverson, Drazan, Evans, Gomberg, Levy E, Ruiz, Sanchez, Valderrama
Nays:	1 - Cate
Exc:	2 - Owens, Smith G
Fiscal:	Has minimal fiscal impact
Revenue:	No revenue impact
Prepared By:	April McDonald, Budget Analyst
Meeting Dates:	6/16, 6/18

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure requires Curry County to expedite any permit related to the operation or use of land for any development on a tract of land that meets certain criteria North of Port Orford on or before June 30, 2027. SB 1047 appropriates \$55,000 to the Oregon Department of Administrative Services to disburse to Curry County to take actions associated with implementing provisions of the measure. The Water Resources Department is required to expedite review or permit decision related to the development of a well or storage on the tract of land. The Act declares an emergency and is effective on passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Fiscal impact of the measure
- Proposed amendment

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

The amendment removes the General Fund appropriation of \$55,000 to the Department of Administrative Services for distribution to Curry County, as the measure has a minimal fiscal impact.

BACKGROUND:

Curry County is located at the southwest corner of the State of Oregon, bordered by the Pacific Ocean to the west, the State of California to the south, Coos County to the north and Josephine County to the east. As of the 2020 census, the population was 23,446. Curry County consists of three incorporated cities: Port Orford, Gold Beach, and Brookings and several unincorporated communities, including Langlois, Carpenterville, Agness, Wedderburn, and Harbor. The Curry County Board of Commissioners is the governing body for all areas of the county outside the three incorporated cities.