

Legislative Fiscal Office 83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2025 Regular Session

Prepared by:Chelsey HerrmannReviewed by:John Borden, Amanda Beitel, Steve Robbins, Paul Siebert, John TerpeningDate:May 21, 2025

Bill Title: Relating to firearms; prescribing an effective date.

Government Unit(s) Affected: District Attorneys, Counties, Public Defense Commission, Department of Corrections, Statewide - Executive Branch, Oregon Youth Authority, Cities, Judicial Department, Criminal Justice Commission, Legislative Administration, Department of State Police, Department of Justice

Summary of Fiscal Impact

Costs related to the measure are indeterminate at this time - see explanatory analysis.

Measure Description

The measure modifies and repeals statutes as amended by chapter 146, Oregon Laws 2021 (SB 554, 2021), relating to the possession of firearms in certain public buildings and airports, requirements for securing, storing, and transferring firearms, and requirements for reporting the theft or loss of a firearm, supervision of minors with firearms, and gun dealer notice requirements.

Under current law, firearm owners must secure their firearms with a trigger, cable lock, locked container, or in a gun room. Failure to secure a firearm is a Class C violation for each firearm not in compliance with the storage requirements and is a Class A violation if a minor obtains an unsecured firearm. An individual who owns a firearm is required to follow specific requirements for the transfer of a firearm and the reporting of a lost or stolen firearm. Violating the firearm transfer requirements is a Class C violation and failure to report a lost or stolen firearm is a Class B violation. Additionally, the governing boards of public universities, the Oregon Health and Science University (OHSU), community colleges, and school districts are allowed to adopt a policy to limit or preclude possession of firearms by those licensed to carry a concealed handgun.

Under the measure, the statutes that are repealed are the authority of governing boards of public universities, OHSU, community colleges and school districts to restrict the possession of firearms by those licensed to carry a concealed handgun, the firearm storage requirements, the reporting requirement of a lost or stolen firearm, the requirement that a firearm be locked during transfer, the duty to supervise the transfer of a firearm with a minor, and notice requirements of a gun dealer, along with the associated criminal penalties.

Additionally, an individual may not be arrested or charged by a peace officer for violation of possessing a firearm in a public building if that individual has in their immediate possession a valid license to carry a firearm. The measure also reduces the cost for issuance or renewal of a concealed handgun license payable to counties from \$100 for the initial license and \$75 for renewal to \$50 for both issuances and renewals.

Lastly, the measure requires the court to enter an order prohibiting an individual who makes a first appearance on a disqualifying drug offense from possessing a firearm and makes it unlawful for a person to knowingly possess a firearm if the individual is subject to a court order prohibiting the person from possessing firearms. If an individual is able to participate in a deflection program without making a court appearance, the deflection program must require the participant to agree not to possess firearms for the duration of the program and transfer all firearms in the participants possession. If the individual is subject to a court order, within 24 hours of

FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

becoming subject to a court order, the individual must transfer all firearms within their possession to a local law enforcement agency, gun dealer, or to a third party who does not reside with the individual subject to the court order and provide the court proof of transfer. Violations of the court order for possessing a firearm is a Class A misdemeanor.

Fiscal Analysis

The fiscal impact to the Oregon Judicial Department (OJD), cities, and counties is indeterminate and dependent on the amount of court orders issued and firearms from individuals with a court order that are required to be collected and stored by local law enforcement and the reduction in revenue collected by counties for concealed handgun licenses.

Oregon Judicial Department

With the repealing of the criminal penalties, there is anticipated to be a net reduction in case filings concerning those firearm offenses. However, for an individual to have a qualifying drug offense that requires a court order to be submitted prohibiting possession of a firearm, the individual would need to be charged with a drug enforcement misdemeanor and an unlawful possession of a controlled substance. According to data from OJD, there have been 4,848 cases filed in circuit courts since September 1, 2024 that included at least one charge involving a drug enforcement misdemeanor. This is an average of 559 drug enforcement misdemeanors per month, or 6,708 cases per year, utilizing the data from September 1, 2024 through April 2025. Additionally, prior HB 4002 (2024) being enacted, OJD reports there were 1,022 cases filed in 2024 where an individual was charged with a Class A misdemeanor involving possession of a controlled substance. Based on this data, OJD anticipates there will be 7,730 cases per year, or 15,460 cases per biennium, that the courts would be required to enter an order prohibiting the possession of a firearm.

To meet the requirements of the measure, OJD anticipates an additional net hour and a half of combined judge and staff time per each case that requires a court order. OJD is unable to estimate the impact of the measure at this time, but the measure is anticipated to increase costs once actual caseloads are identified.

Cities and Counties

The fiscal impact for cities and counties is indeterminate and dependent on the number of individuals who are subject to a court order and who transfer their firearms to local law enforcement. Additionally, with the reduction of the concealed handgun licenses fees from \$100 for the initial license and \$75 for renewal to \$50 per initial license and renewal would reduce the revenue received by the county Sheriff's office. Depending on the volume of firearm transfers in the respective city or county, this may require additional staffing and resources to support the work required by the measure.

Other entities

There is a minimal fiscal impact to the District Attorneys, Public Defense Commission, and Department of Justice. There is no fiscal impact to the Criminal Justice Commission, Department of Corrections, Legislative Administration, Department of State Police, and Oregon Youth Authority.

Relevant Dates

The measure takes effect on January 1, 2026.