
FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION                                  Measure: HB 3626 - A 
 

 
Only impacts on original or engrossed versions are considered official                                                        Page 1 of 2  

 
 
 
 
 

 

 

Prepared by:  Roxanne Adams  
Reviewed by:  Amanda Beitel, Ben Ruef, John Borden 
Date: May 21, 2025 
 

 

Bill Title: Relating to vehicles. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected: Cities, Department of Transportation, Counties, Judicial Department 
 
Summary of Fiscal Impact 
 

2025-27 Biennium General Fund Lottery Funds Other Funds Federal Funds Total Funds Positions FTE

Department of Transportation 250,000$         -$                       -$                       -$                       250,000$         -               -         

Total Fiscal Impact
250,000$         -$                       -$                       -$                       250,000$         -               -         

2027-29 Biennium General Fund Lottery Funds Other Funds Federal Funds Total Funds Positions FTE

Department of Transportation -$                       -$                       -$                       -$                       -$                       -               -         

Total Fiscal Impact
-$                       -$                       -$                       -$                       -$                       -               -          

 
Measure Description  
The measure defines “powered micromobility device” for the vehicle code and related laws, referring to a range 
of small, lightweight, low-speed electric device used to transport one or two people. The measure ratifies laws 
for children under 16, clarifying the requirement to wear helmets when operating or using bicycles, powered 
micromobility devices including electric bicycles (e-bikes), electric scooters (e-scooters), electric skateboards, 
among other vehicles. The Oregon Department of Transportation (ODOT) is required to adopt and enforce rules 
establishing protective headgear requirements for using or riding these vehicles. The measure sets the minimum 
age allowed to operate Class 1 e-bikes at 14 years old, and Class 2 e-bikes at 16 years old. People 16 and older 
are permitted to operate a powered micromobility device without any grant of driving privileges.  
 
The measure requires ODOT to develop a safety education program to inform children and adults about vehicle 
safety. The program shall address increasing knowledge and understanding about protective headgear, age 
requirements, laws, and rules of the road when operating or using the following types of vehicles: bicycles, 
motor assisted scooters, electric personal assistive mobility devices, powered micromobility devices, or 
skateboards, nonmotorized scooters, or in-line skates. The measure includes a one-time $250,000 General Fund 
appropriation for the 2025-27 biennium to fund the education program. 

 
Fiscal Analysis 
The total fiscal impact of the measure is $250,000 General Fund in the 2025-27 biennium.  
 
Oregon Department of Transportation 
The measure directs ODOT to develop and establish safety standards and rules for powered micromobility 
devices, create a process for approving accredited battery and charger testing laboratories, and implement a 
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safety education program. To support this work, the measure includes a one-time General Fund appropriation of 
$250,000 to fund the vehicle safety education campaign. Although ODOT has not allocated specific amounts to 
individual program components, anticipated costs include the development and production of digital and 
printed educational materials, press releases, newsletters, social media content, and updates to Oregon’s driver 
manuals and driver education courses. ODOT anticipates the need for 0.25 FTE of a Program Analyst 2 position 
to develop and manage the program, at an estimated cost of $59,225 General Fund. The remaining $190,775 of 
the appropriation is expected to support implementation of the education program. The specific cost of 
publishing online content and updating printed materials will depend on the final scope of the program and 
vendor pricing. ODOT anticipates that the $250,000 General Fund appropriation will be sufficient to implement 
the driver safety education program. Costs associated with developing safety standards and rules for powered 
micromobility devices are expected to be minimal and absorbed within the Department’s existing operations. 
 
Other entities 
There is a minimal fiscal impact to the Oregon Judicial Department. There is no fiscal impact to local 
governments. 
 
Relevant Dates  
The measure takes effect on January 1, 2026. 
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