FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION



Legislative Fiscal Office 83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2025 Regular Session

Prepared by:Michael GrahamReviewed by:Wendy Gibson, John BordenDate:May 1, 2025

Bill Title: Relating to complaints filed with the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission.

Government Unit(s) Affected: Teacher Standards and Practices Commission, Judicial Department

Summary of Fiscal Impact

Costs related to the measure are anticipated to be minimal - see explanatory analysis.

Measure Description

The measure authorizes the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC) to impose a civil penalty against a licensee or prospective licensee who has been convicted of certain crimes, found to be grossly unfit or in gross neglect of duty, made false statements in a licensing application, or failed to comply with probationary terms related to licensure. TSPC shall adopt rules establishing a maximum civil penalty for a single violation, not to exceed \$1,000 per violation. All moneys recovered from the imposition of civil penalties under the measure shall be deposited and credited to the Teacher Standards and Practices Commission Account.

Fiscal Analysis

The measure is anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on TSPC, as it only requires TSPC to conduct rulemaking to implement the proposed civil penalty fee. Once the proposed civil penalty fee has been established, TSPC may impose civil penalties of up to \$1,000 per violation, which is expected to generate a small amount of additional revenue for TSPC.

The measure is anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on the Oregon Judicial Department.

Relevant Dates

The measure takes effect on January 1, 2026, and applies to conduct occurring on or after the operative date of July 1, 2026.