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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure prohibits the Department of Human Services (ODHS) or Oregon Health Authority (OHA) from
recovering medical assistance payments from a recipient's estate or surviving spouse if the recipient's surviving
child provided care for the recipient in their home and has inherited or received legal interest in the home.

Detailed Summary:

e Prohibits ODHS or OHA from recovering medical assistance payments from a recipient's estate or surviving
spouse if a recipient's surviving child lived in the recipient's home to provide care that prevented the recipient
from requiring institutional care and the surviving child received legal interest in the home or inherited it after
the recipient's death.

e (Creates an exception to the voidability of transfers of real and personal property based on the above
conditions.

e Authorizes ODHS and OHA to adopt necessary rules for implementation.

e Directs OHA and ODHS to request necessary waivers from the federal government to authorize
implementation and to notify Legislative Counsel upon receiving approval.

e Becomes operative on the date on which Legislative Counsel receives notice of federal approval.

e Authorizes OHA and ODHS to take necessary action ahead of operative date.

e Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:
e Long-term services and supports provided through Medicaid
e Provision in federal law to exempt estate recovery for a child as caregiver

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
The amendment replaces the measure.

BACKGROUND:

Oregon's state medical assistance (Medicaid) program, the Oregon Health Plan, provides coverage for health care
and long-term services and supports for approximately one-third of Oregonians, according to data from the
Oregon Health Authority. In addition to services and supports provided through Medicaid, the state operates the
Oregon Supplemental Income Program (OSIP) and General Assistance (GA) programs for individuals with low
incomes, health needs, disabilities, or other qualifying conditions who are in need of cash assistance. When a
recipient of benefits from Medicaid, OSIP, or GA dies, the state is empowered to recover the amount of benefits
paid to that recipient from their estate (ORS 416.310 to 416.351; ORS 411.708; ORS 411.795). This is called estate
recovery and in some cases is required under federal law. According to the Department of Human Services,
approximately 60 percent of the funds recovered are used to pay for services for other Oregonians, while the rest
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https://www.oregon.gov/oha/HPA/ANALYTICS/Pages/medicaid-enrollment.aspx
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors416.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors411.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors411.html
https://www.oregon.gov/odhs/financial-recovery/pages/estate-recovery.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/odhs/financial-recovery/pages/estate-recovery.aspx
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returns to the federal government. There are exceptions to the amount the state may recover—up to $3,500 is
left for burial expenses, and recovery is halted if doing so would pose an undue hardship, or if the recipient was
the victim of a crime, has a surviving spouse, a child under age 21, or a child who is blind or disabled. Federal and
state law also prohibit a recipient from transferring assets to other persons without “adequate consideration,” or
receiving fair market value, and doing so may result in the transfer being voided and the individual’s Medicaid
eligibility being revoked or delayed (42 CFR § 416.1246; ORS 411.620). However, there are some exceptions, such
as when an individual transfers ownership to their child who lives in the home to provide care for that individual
for at least two years (42 U.S.C. 1396p(c)(2)(A)(iv)).
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https://www.ecfr.gov/current/title-20/chapter-III/part-416/subpart-L/section-416.1246
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors411.html
https://www.ssa.gov/OP_Home/ssact/title19/1917.htm

