FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION



Legislative Fiscal Office 83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2025 Regular Session

Prepared by: Michael Graham

Reviewed by: Kim To
Date: April 1, 2025

Bill Title: Relating to waiver of tuition for certain qualified students; prescribing an effective date.

Government Unit(s) Affected: Public Universities, Oregon Health and Science University

Summary of Fiscal Impact

Costs related to the measure are indeterminate at this time - see explanatory analysis.

Measure Description

The measure amends statutes relating to the waiver of tuition for family members of deceased or disable veterans or children of Purple Heart recipients, increasing the age limit for tuition waivers at public universities and Oregon Health and Science University for qualified students from 23 to 31 years of age. Qualified students may receive a tuition waiver for a master's degree whether they received a tuition waiver for a baccalaureate degree. The measure removes the requirement that qualified students apply for a master's degree within 12 months of receiving a baccalaureate degree to receive a tuition waiver for a master's degree. The measure permits qualified students to receive a tuition waiver for a master's degree if the student presents proof of eligibility for specified federal assistance.

Fiscal Analysis

The fiscal impact to public universities and Oregon Health and Science University is indeterminate but likely minimal. The measure may result in reductions in tuition revenue for public universities that waive tuition for qualified students. The amount of lost revenue will depend on the number of students who may choose to take advantage of the expanded tuition waiver. However, federal grants that are currently available have been expanded to cover qualified students described in the measure; and the measure allows the amount of tuition waived to be reduced by the amount of any federal aid scholarships, grants, or any other aid received by the qualified student.

Relevant Dates

The measure takes effect 91 days after adjournment sine die.

Measure: HB 3920