### SB 459 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# Senate Committee On Veterans, Emergency Management, Federal and World Affairs

**Action Date:** 03/18/25

Action: Do pass. Vote: 4-0-1-0

Yeas: 4 - Manning Jr, Meek, Thatcher, Woods

Exc: 1 - Smith DB
Fiscal: No fiscal impact
Revenue: No revenue impact

Prepared By: Kevin Rancik, LPRO Analyst

**Meeting Dates:** 2/27, 3/18

#### WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure removes the requirement that the three licensee members of the Oregon Board of Maritime Pilots be Oregon residents.

#### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

Provisions of measure

## **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

# **BACKGROUND:**

The Oregon Board of Maritime Pilots (OBMP) was established in 1846 and is currently under the jurisdiction of the Public Utility Commission. OBMP's mission is to promote public safety by ensuring qualified persons pilot vessels entering and leaving Oregon's ports, and the Board establishes programs for pilot trainee and apprentice selection and training, incident investigations, license administration, and ratemaking.

The OBMP limits the number of licensees and trainees to the number needed to render efficient and competent pilotage service. OBMP establishes rules for a licensing system covering persons licensed to pilot, trainees, and pilot training organizations; ORS 776.405 requires, with some exceptions, vessels in pilotage grounds to be piloted by licensed persons.

Oregon statute establishes four bar and river pilotage grounds: the Columbia River Bar, the Columbia and Willamette River ground, the Coos Bay Bar, and Yaquina Bay Bar (ORS 776.025). Statute further establishes that the OBMP consists of nine members (ORS 776.105). Three of these must be licensees, with one being a Columbia River Bar licensee, another a Columbia River licensee, and the third a Coos Bay or Yaquina Bay licensee. Each of them are currently required to be Oregon residents.

Senate Bill 459 removes the requirement the three licensee members of the Oregon Board of Maritime Pilots must be residents of Oregon.

Carrier: Sen. Weber