HB 2809 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Revenue

Action Date:	03/04/25
Action:	Without recommendation as to passage, refer to
	Ways and Means by prior reference.
Vote:	7-0-0
Yeas:	7 - Hudson, Levy B, Marsh, Nathanson, Reschke, Smith G, Walters
Fiscal:	Has minimal fiscal impact
Revenue:	No revenue impact
Prepared By:	Chris Allanach, Legislative Revenue Officer
Meeting Dates:	3/4

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

The measure increases the upper limit on pesticide registration fees charged by the Oregon Department of Agriculture (ODA) from \$400 to \$550 and authorizes ODA to take any action necessary for implementation before January 1, 2026. It takes effect on the 91st day following adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- The bill referral process
- The need for the bill to be in Ways & Means

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Federal law requires pesticides that are manufactured, compounded, delivered, distributed, sold, offered, or exposed for sale in Oregon to be registered annually with the Oregon Department of Agriculture. The annual registration fee for each pesticide product was last updated in 2023 and is currently \$360.