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Bill Title: Relating to the administration of the family and medical leave insurance program; prescribing an 
effective date. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected: Employment Department, Judicial Department 
 
Summary of Fiscal Impact  
Costs related to the measure are anticipated to be minimal - see explanatory analysis. 
 
Measure Description  
The measure specifies actions that an authorized agent may take on behalf of a deceased or incapacitated 
person within the Paid Leave Oregon program, including submitting a claim for benefits or requesting a hearing 
to obtain review of a final decision. An authorized agent may only submit a claim or request a hearing if the 
claimant was deceased or incapacitated before submitting a claim for Paid Leave Oregon benefits, or before the 
director of the Oregon Employment Department had made a final decision regarding a pending or existing claim 
for benefits. The measure also makes technical changes to administrative provisions of Paid Leave Oregon. 
 
Fiscal Analysis 
The measure is anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on the Oregon Employment Department and the 
Oregon Judicial Department. 
 
Employment Department 
The measure clarifies that an authorized agent may file claims and appeals on a behalf of a claimant who is 
deceased or incapacitated. Under current law, Paid Leave Oregon allows a designated representative to file 
claims and appeals on behalf of claimants in most situations, including claimants who are incapacitated. 
However, Paid Leave Oregon does not currently allow authorized agents to file claims or appeals on behalf of 
claimants who are deceased. As a result, Paid Leave Oregon may have a slight increase in the number of claims 
filed and approved, which in turn may increase the benefits paid out of the Paid Leave Oregon Trust Fund. While 
the Oregon Employment Department (OED) is unable to estimate the number of individuals in the state who are 
incapacitated or deceased and who would possibly qualify for benefits under this measure, there were 26 
applications that were denied in 2023 because the claimant was deceased out of 170,000 total claims 
submitted. In addition, OED estimates it will receive 20 claims per year on behalf of incapacitated claimants out 
of an estimated 149,000 total claims in 2025. Assuming the annual actual number of newly allowable claims 
under this measure is similarly small, the measure is anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on the ending 
balance of the Paid Leave Oregon Trust Fund, which had a balance of $471 million as of January 16, 2025. The 
measure is also anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on OED to administer Paid Leave Oregon. 
  
Judicial Department 
The measure is anticipated to have a minimal fiscal impact on the Oregon Judicial Department. 
 
Relevant Dates  
The measure takes effect 91 days after adjournment sine die. 
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Section 1 of the measure, which specifies that employees are not eligible for Paid Leave Oregon benefits if they 
receive unemployment benefits, becomes operative on January 1, 2026. 
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