HB 3582A eliminates the time limits for survivors of child sexual
abuse and sexual assault to bring claims in civil courts.

Current Law:
o Adults must file sexual assault claims within 5 years of
discovering the link between abuse and harm.
e Children have until age 40 or 5 years from discovery—whichever
is later. However, the average age a victim comes forward is 52.

HB 3582A:

e Oregon would join 19 other states, including Arkansas, Louisiana,
and New York, and the federal government in removing these
limits so survivors can pursue justice on their own timelines.

e The removal of these limitations will not apply retroactively.

The bill also removes the word “knowingly” from the extended
statutes of limitation, aligning with the general negligence standard

and closing this loophole.

o Defense attorneys use “knowingly” to argue that a survivor must
prove the institution had actual knowledge of abuse against them
personally, regardless of whether they knew about reports of past
abuse or had information indicating abuse.

 This has led to inconsistent court rulings, and in many cases, valid
claims have been dismissed—leading to a higher standard for
victims than in other negligence cases. o



