
 

Program Requirements 

Requirement PSP (Preschool Promise) OPK/HS Preschool PFA (Preschool for All) 

Eligibility  

Family Eligibility  Family income is at or 
below 200 percent of 
the Federal Poverty 
Level in effect at the 
time eligibility is 
determined.  
Notwithstanding (1) 
(a): 
(a) A child from a family 
over the 200% poverty 
level living in a 
determined geographic 
area with low access to 
care. 
(b) A “Foster Child” as 
defined in ORS 418.200 
(Definitions) is eligible for 
the Preschool Promise 
Program. 
 
Housing Adjustment: 
Eligibility Specialists 
may make an 
adjustment to a 
family’s gross income 
calculation for the 
purposes 
of determining 
eligibility to account for 
excessive housing 
costs.  

The family’s income is 
equal to or below the 
poverty line 
 
Automatic eligible 
categories: 
 

- Family is 
receiving public 
assistance such 
as SNAP/TANF 

- Identified as 
Homeless 
under the 
McKinney 
Vento Act 

- Child(ren) is in 
Foster Care 

 

There are no income 
eligibility requirements. 

The following populations 
are prioritized in the 
outreach and application 
processes. 

• Children from 
families 
experiencing low 
incomes 

• Children 
experiencing 
homelessness 

• Children living in or 
at risk of placement 
in foster care 

• Children who speak 
languages other 
than English 

• Children with 
developmental 
delays and 
disabilities 

 

Child Age Eligibility  Children must be at 
least three years of age 
but not older than five 
years of age, as 
determined by the date 
used to determine 
kindergarten eligibility. 

A child must be at least 
three years old or, turn 
three years old by the 
date used to determine 
eligibility for public 
school in the 
community in which 
the Head Start 
Preschool program is 
located; and, 

Children who are 3 or 4 on 
or before September 1 of 
the preschool year. 

https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_418.200
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_418.200


Be no older than the 
age required to attend 
school. 

 

Residency  Children must reside in 
Oregon  

Children must reside in 
the agreed upon 
catchment area in 
Oregon  

Children who have a 
parent or legal guardian 
living in Multnomah 
County 

Type of Providers 
Eligible to participate 

Home-based               
Center-Based 
School-Based 
 

Home-based               
Center-Based 
School-Based 
 

Home-based               
Center-Based 
School-Based 
 

Operations  

Annual Hours  Minimum of 900 direct 
service hours 

Service duration for at 
least 45 percent.  A 
program must provide 
1,020 annual hours of 
planned class 
operations over the 
course of at least eight 
months per year for at 
least 45 percent of its 
Head Start Preschool 
center-based funded 
enrollment. 

Full Day/Full Year 
minimum or 2,320 hours 
School Day/School Year 
minimum of 900 hours 

Hours per Day  Direct service hours of 
no less than 6 hours 
per day, 

Classes must operate 
for a minimum of 3.5 
hours per day 

School Day/School Year: 
Provide up to six hours 
per day of high-quality  
Full Day/Full Year: Up to 
four additional hours of 
before or aftercare per 
day  

Days per Week  No less than 4 days per 
week 

A program must 
provide, at a minimum, 
at least 160 days per 
year of planned class 
operations if it 
operates for five days 
per week, or at least 
128 days per year if it 
operates four days per 
week. 

Not specified  

Hours  Direct service hours 
must be between the 
hours of 7:00 am – 5:00 
pm 

Not Specified Not specified 
 



Classroom Size  18 children (waiver 
available for a 
classroom of 20)  

A class that serves a 
majority of children 
who are three years old 
must have no more 
than 17 children.   

A double session class 
that serves a majority 
of children who are 
three years old must 
have no more than 15 
children. 

 
A class that serves a 
majority of children 
who are four and five 
years old must have no 
more than 20 children. 
 
A double session class 
that serves a majority 
of children who are 
four and five years old 
must have no more 
than 17 children. 

Follow Licensing 
Requirement- maximum 
group size of 20 

Ratio  1:9 (waiver available 
1:10 ratio) 

Three years old must 
have no more than 
17 children with a 
teacher and teaching 
assistant or two 
teachers. 
 
Four and five years 
old must have no 
more than 20 
children with a 
teacher and a 
teaching assistant or 
two teachers.   

Follow Licensing 
Requirement- 1:10 ratio of 
adults to children. Ability 
to access ‘inclusion 
support fund’ to lower 
ratio to support children 
with IFSP and/or 
emotional and social 
supports.  

Minimum Salary 
Requirements  

$25/hour (target $36) 
for Lead Teacher  
with Step 10 ORO or BA 
 
 
 

$25/hour (target $36) 
for Lead Teacher  
with Step 10 ORO or BA 
 
 

$29.42/hour (target 
$39.23) for teacher with 
Step 10 ORO or BA 



Minimum Educational 
Requirements  

Step 7 ORO Step 7 ORO Step 7 ORO 

Insurance 
Requirements  

Yes  Yes Yes, aligned with PSP. 

Funding  

Cost per Child  $15,650  $16,311- $24,218 
depending on calendar 
(full year or school 
year) and schedule 
(full-day or school-day) 

$16,536 - $23,592 
depending on calendar 
(full year or school year) 
and schedule (full-day or 
school-day) 

Transportation 
Allocation available  

Yes  Included in cost per 
child. Not a separate 
allocation 

Yes  

Start Up Allocation 
available  

Yes  Yes  Yes 

Inclusion Funds  No No, but Head Start 
Performance Standards 
require a Mental 
Health and Disability 
Coordinator on staff. 
Cost included in cost 
per child. Not a 
separate allocation.  

Yes 
Used for additional 
classroom assistant. The 
extra staffing helps 
teachers so they can 
support children with 
delays, disabilities, or who 
need extra emotional 
and/or social support.  

Programming  

Developmental 
Screenings  

Yes  Yes, and health 
screenings 

Yes  

Periodic Child Level 
Developmental 
Assessments  

Yes  Yes  Yes  

No suspension/No 
expulsion Policy 

Yes  Yes Yes  

Parent Engagement  Yes Yes Yes 

Home Visits  No Yes No 

System/Provider Supports  

Coaching & Technical 
Assistance  

DELC contracts with 
CCRR (MHCC) 
 
DELC contracts with 
OSU for Mentor 
Coaches 

Coaching offered by 
OPK grantee to staff; 
Technical Assistance 
offered by OHS 
regional office and 
DELC 

County contracts with 
CCRR (MHCC) 
 

Child Eligibility 
Determination 

Completed by Early 
Learning Hub 

Completed by OPK 
grantee  

Completed by Multnomah 
County 

Program Observations/ 
Data Driven Quality 
Improvement  

Participation in CLASS 
& Environmental 
Rating Scale (ERS) 
observations required 

Participation in CLASS 
& Environmental 
Rating Scale (ERS) 
observations required 

Participation in 
Environmental Rating 
Scale (ERS) observations 
required. 



(as part of statewide 
sampling plan) 
 
DELC contracts with 
The Research Institute  
@ WOU. 

(as part of statewide 
sampling plan) 
 
DELC contracts with 
The Research Institute  
@ WOU. 
 

 
 
 
County contracts with The 
Research Institute  @ 
WOU. 
 

 


