LEGISLATIVE FISCAL OFFICE 900 Court Street NE, Room H-178 Salem, Oregon 97301 (503) 986-1828



#### JOINT COMMITTEE ON WAYS AND MEANS

Senator Lieber, Senate Co-Chair Representative Sanchez, House Co-Chair

Senator Girod, Senate Co-Vice Chair Representative Gomberg, House Co-Vice Chair Representative Smith, House Co-Vice Chair

Amanda Beitel, Legislative Fiscal Officer Paul Siebert, Deputy Legislative Fiscal Officer John Terpening, Deputy Legislative Fiscal Officer

То:	Capital Construction Subcommittee
From:	Steve Robbins, Legislative Fiscal Office
Date:	June 18, 2025
Subject:	HB 3076A – Relating to gun dealer licenses Work Session Recommendations

HB 3076 requires the Oregon Department of Justice (DOJ) to issue state firearms dealer licenses beginning July 1, 2027. The measure creates procedural and eligibility requirements for the application, issuance, and oversight authority of state firearms dealer licenses. The measure also establishes minimum requirements for the employees of a licensed firearms dealer as well as minimum security and storage requirements for a place of business where firearms are sold. The DOJ is also asked to conduct inspections of licensees. The measure directs DOJ and the Oregon State Police to adopt rules as necessary to implement the measure. The measure declares an emergency and is effective on passage.

This program is funded entirely with General Fund until revenue from fees is available.

The bill has two amendments being considered by the Subcommittee. The -A3 amendment makes change to operative dates, the frequency of inspections, and removes the emergency clause, while the -A4 is being requested to add the appropriation to the bill.

# **Amendment -A3**

The -A3 amendment separates firearms dealers into two categories in terms of when applications for licensure are due, and when licensure is required. For those that sell more than 251 firearms on annual basis and do not hold only a Type 02 Federal Firearms License, licensure is required by July 1, 2027. For all other firearms dealers, licensure is required by July 1, 2028. The -A3 also changes the requirement for on-site inspections to every four years instead of every three years. Finally, the amendment removes the emergency clause.

LFO recommends adoption of the -A3 amendment.

MOTION: I move adoption of the –A3 amendment to HB 3076. (vote)

# Amendment -A4

The -A4 amendment includes \$3.7 million General Fund and 11 positions (7.63 FTE) to fund DOJ's phased approach to implementation. The fiscal impact includes one permanent information technology position and 4 limited duration positions to initiate the information technology system needed to support the program, and 6 positions to establish the program, rules, and to process initial licensure applications that are due before the end of the 2025-27 biennium. All positions are partial FTE as they phase in during the biennium. Also included are the start-up and on-going costs associated with the information technology system needed to manage the program. All other entities reported either a minimal or no fiscal impact. The General Fund appropriation is to be deposited into the Firearm Dealer License Fund, separate and distinct from the General Fund, so \$3.7 million Other Funds limitation is also included to allow the agency to expend the funds.

LFO recommends adoption of the –A4 amendment.

MOTION: I move adoption of the –A4 amendment to HB 3076. (vote)

## **Final Subcommittee Action**

LFO recommends that HB 3076, as amended by the –A3 and -A4 amendments, be moved to the Ways and Means Full Committee.

MOTION: I move HB 3076, as amended, to the Full Committee with a do pass recommendation. (vote)

## Carriers

