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Bill Title: Relating to public health. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected: Judicial Department, Oregon Health Authority, Department of Corrections, 
Department of Human Services, Department of Justice, Oregon Youth Authority 
 
Summary of Fiscal Impact 

 Costs related to the measure are anticipated to be minimal - see explanatory analysis. 

 
Measure Description  
The measure updates provisions relating to Oregon Health Authority’s (OHA) opioid and opiate reporting, 
psilocybin investigations, environmental health and wastewater specialist and trainee eligibility requirements, 
and clinical laboratory requirements. 
 
Fiscal Analysis 
The measure requires OHA to adopt rules establishing an application process for permits allowing clinical 
laboratories to conduct health screenings. OHA must also verify each clinical laboratory in Oregon meets federal 
guidelines and either issue, or facilitate the issuance of, a certificate to laboratories that qualify. Clinical 
laboratories are not permitted to operate without a certificate issued by OHA or the federal government. 
 
Currently, the Department of Corrections (DOC) applies for a Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendment 
(CLIA waiver) every two years, which allows DOC to perform low-risk testing. The current cost for this waiver is 
$2,976 per biennium. However, if OHA adopts rules that requires DOC to obtain a full CLIA certificate, costs 
could range from $2,676 and $141,801 per biennium, depending on the type and volume of tests performed. If a 
full CLIA certificate is required, DOC may return to the Legislature for additional resources.  
 
All other agencies anticipate a minimal fiscal impact. 
 
Relevant Dates  
The measure takes effect on January 1, 2026. 
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