

Legislative Fiscal Office 83rd Oregon Legislative Assembly 2025 Regular Session

Prepared by:Michael GrahamReviewed by:John TerpeningDate:May 8, 2025

Bill Title: Relating to state financial administration; declaring an emergency.

Government Unit(s) Affected: Board of Chiropractic Examiners

Summary of Fiscal Impact

The measure does not increase costs, but it is anticipated to increase agency revenues - see explanatory analysis.

Measure Description

The measure is a fee ratification bill that approves certain new or increased fees adopted by the Oregon Board of Chiropractic Examiners (OBCE) through the administrative rulemaking process. During the 2023-25 biennium, OBCE established or increased the following fees:

License and Fee Type: Chiropractic Physicians (CP) and Chiropractic Assistants (CA)	Prior Fee	New Fee	% Change
CP applicants and licensees: Initial application and background check fee	\$166.25	\$495	197%
CP applicants and licensees: Initial application and background check fee for reciprocity candidates	\$166.25	\$495	197%
CP applicants and licensees: Initial license fee	\$180	\$234	30%
CP applicants and licensees: Active annual registration fee	\$510	\$663	30%
CP applicants and licensees: Senior active annual registration fee	\$378	\$491.40	30%
CP applicants and licensees: Inactive annual registration fee	\$270	\$351	30%
CP applicants and licensees: Delinquent fee for late renewal	\$125 per week, not to exceed \$500	\$150 per week	20%

License and Fee Type: Chiropractic Physicians (CP) and Chiropractic Assistants (CA)	Prior Fee	New Fee	% Change
CA applicants and certificate holders: Initial application, certification, and background check fee (*combined previously separate fees)	\$146.25*	\$175	20%
CA applicants and certificate holders: Annual renewal fee	\$90	\$117	30%
Criminal background check fee for applicants, CP, and CA	\$46.25	\$45	-3%
Civil penalty: Failing to notify OBCE within 30 days of changes to email, business, and mailing address	\$50	\$50	0%
Civil penalty: Failing to pay fines or fees owed to OBCE	\$50 per month, not to exceed \$500	\$50 per month of nonpayment	0%
Civil penalty: Failing to comply with continuing education requirements for CAs	\$15 per credit not completed, not to exceed \$90	\$15 per credit not completed	0%
Civil penalty: Failing to notify OBCE within 10 days that a licensee is convicted of a misdemeanor or felony, or arrested for a felony	\$125 per week, not to exceed \$500	\$125 per week	0%
Civil penalty: Failing to notify OBCE designated records custodian	N/A	\$500	N/A

Fiscal Analysis

ORS 291.055(1)(e) stipulates that all new state agency fees or fee increases adopted between the date of adjournment sine die of a regular session of the Legislative Assembly, and the date of adjournment sine die of the next regular session of the Legislative Assembly, are rescinded upon adjournment sine die of the next regular session of the Legislative Assembly unless the fee is authorized by enabling legislation.

Several sections in ORS Chapter 684 establish the Board's authority to impose and collect certain fees related to licensing and regulation of chiropractic physicians and chiropractic assistants. OBCE establishes fees through its rulemaking authority. The Board's 2023-25 legislatively adopted budget included a 20% fee increase to all license types. However, that 20% fee increase did not provide sufficient revenues to sustain agency operations. As a result, OBCE adopted a 30% fee increase (though the application fee for chiropractic physicians was increased by more than 30%), and established new fees, which went into effect in November 2024. The 30% fee increase is projected to generate an additional \$636,898 of Other Funds fee revenue, which will sustain agency operations through the 2025-27 biennium. However, without an overall increase in licensees, the Board will likely need another fee increase in the 2027-29 biennium.

Relevant Dates

The measure declares an emergency and takes effect on July 1, 2025.